THE MARS VOLTA – Que Dios Te Maldiga Mi Corazon (Album Review)

Pinterest LinkedIn Tumblr +

The Mars Volta are back with their new album titled “Que Dios Te Maldiga Mi Corazon”, a collection of 12 reworked acoustic tracks from their most recent record – the one that broke a decade-long hiatus – and here the band takes the opportunity to return to their Latin and Caribbean roots. The result is a folk record with strong political overtones that showcases the band’s musicianship and creativity.
From the opening track “Blacklight Shine,” it’s clear that this is not going to be a typical record. The traditional Latin and Caribbean arrangements of finger-picked acoustic guitars and raw percussive rhythms give this track a unique flavor. Vocalist Cedric Bixler-Zavala‘s voice is at the forefront, and it’s impressive to hear how well he adapts to the acoustic setting. The reworked version of “Graveyard Love” transforms the original into a rhythmic salsa-like number. The percussion takes center stage, and it’s hard not to move to the infectious beat. The same can be said for “Shore Story,” which is given a piano-driven Latin jazz arrangement that breathes new life into the song.
The title track is a standout, with its piano-driven soundscape that feels like it’s taken from a bustling street performance. Bixler-Zavala‘s vocal delivery is commanding and emotional, and it’s impressive how much power he can generate without the aid of distortion and noise. For the creation of this album The Mars Volta removed the extra layers and created room for the essence of every song to stand out on its own. “Vigil” is a great example of this, as it feels like a natural complement to the original. “Cerulea” is another highlight, with its dark and dramatic feel and pained vocal melody.

While tracks like “Blank Condolences,” are given more dramatic reworkings, others like “Tourmaline,” are more subtle. The downside of this approach is that towards the end of the album, some tracks start to blend together, adding an element of predictability. Despite this, the musicianship and passion of the band keep the album engaging throughout. Cuts  like “Equus 3” are full of energy and showcase the band’s impressive technical abilities. The record closes on a high note with energetic takes on “Collapsible Shoulders” and “The Requisition.”

Overall, “Que Dios Te Maldiga Mi Corazon” is a unique and impressive album that showcases The Mars Volta‘s versatility and creativity. Stripping away the excess and leaving space for the core of each song to shine through, this effort turns in a collection of folk-infused tracks that boasts powerful political themes, certain to leave a lasting impression on both longstanding and recent followers. Recommended it to anyone searching for a different and exciting listening.

Released By: Cloud Hills
Released On: April 21st, 2023
Genre: Prog / Folk Rock

“Que Dios Te Maldiga Mi Corazon” Track-listing: 

  1. Blacklight Shine
  2. Graveyard Love
  3. Shore Story
  4. Blank Condolences
  5. Vigil
  6. Que Dios Te Maldiga Mi Corazon
  7. Cerulea
  8. Flash Burns From Flashbacks
  9. Palm Full Of Crux
  10. NoCaseGain
  11. Tourmaline
  12. Equus 3
  13. Collapsible Shoulders
  14. The Requisition

Pre-order HERE.

8.0 Great

The Mars Volta's acoustic album bring forth their Latin and Caribbean roots, while highlighting the core of each song with passionate musicianship and impressive production in "Que Dios Te Maldiga Mi Corazon"

  • Songwriting 9
  • Musicianship 8
  • Originality 7
  • Production 8

1 Comment

  1. FYI: This album is an acoustic interpretation of the album they released last year. So to say they’ve been on a decade-long hiatus is inaccurate.

error: This content is copyrighted!