WATAIN Premiere Video For New Single “We Remain” Featuring FARIDA LEMOUCHI

Pinterest LinkedIn Tumblr +

Today, notorious Swedish black metal collective WATAIN is proud to unveil the third and final single from their upcoming new studio album, “The Agony & Ecstasy Of Watain,” which will be released on April 29th, 2022. 

The song is called “We Remain” and represents the deepest shadow of the album. A profound contemplation on the winding abyss of the past. Fearlessly extending across the known borders of Watain‘s musical wilderness, “We Remain” also features noble contributions by Farida Lemouchi (ex The Devil’s Blood, now Molassess) and Gottfrid Åhman (ex-In Solitude, now PÅGÅ).

The video for “We Remain“was directed by Johan Bååth who has been documenting WATAIN‘s journey through the world for many years.

Erik Danielsson (vocals) comments: “I begun writing “We Remain” in 2012, as a meditation on the concept of Mythopoeia; our mythical origins and how our understanding and approach to them is shaped and transformed throughout time. The lyric is built around the five elemental wings of the Pentagram, and the mysteries embedded in that ancient symbol. It is a song about forgotten things that ought to be remembered, the search for truths that were lost, of the ever burning flame that illuminates the darkness of times immemorial, the passing of aeons and and our ponderable place therein.”

Vocalist Erik Danielsson states: Serimosa’ tells of the electric notion of the coming of a great power. The appearance of cracks in the dam that holds the flood of the great sea. A visitor from the beyond, crossing the threshold into the material world. Just like ‘Watain’, ‘Serimosa’ is a word/name of power communicated out of unknown origin, appearing into the world sans history, to be approached with thought and reverence. Its linguistic root may be traced from the Latin word Seri (‘serum’), along with Dolorosa (‘pain’), Nebulosa (‘starfog’) and Lacrimosa (“tearfilled”), as if those words and their meanings were spoken as one. In her hand she holds the stern light of renewal, of transformation, of merciless cleansing. Thematically, Serimosa also holds similarities to the fiery Samhara aspect of Nataraja, the doomsday dance of Shiva marking the dissolution of order at the end of an eon. May she bring you far and deep.”

“The Agony & Ecstasy Of Watain” track listing

 1. Ecstasies In Night Infinite
 2. The Howling
 3. Serimosa
 4. Black Cunt
 5. Leper’s Grace
 6. Not Sun Nor Man Nor God
 7. Before The Cataclysm
 8. We Remain
 9. Funeral Winter
10. Septentrion

Available formats:

  • Ltd. Deluxe Gatefold LP in Slipcase (incl. the album on CD)
    •   Grey Marbled (667, NB mailorder excl.)
    •   Dark Red Marbled (666, Band excl.)
    •   (scroll down for a product picture)
  • LP
    • Black 
    • Green w/ Rainbow Splatter (2000, EU retail)
    • Solid Red (300, via EMP)
    • Pink (300, NB mailorder)
    • Blue Marbled (300, UK)
    • Solid Green (300, Seasons Of Mist)
    • Transp. Blue (300, Levykauppa Äx & Sound Polluution)
    • Solid Grey (300, Sweden Rock)
    • Dark Purple (300, Napalm)
    • White (300, US Retail)
    • Red w/ Rainbow Splatter (1800, US retail & NB US mailorder)
    • Green Marbled (300, NB US mailorder)
  • CD Digipak
  • Digital Album

Comments are closed.

error: This content is copyrighted!