BLUE ÖYSTER CULT Will Bid Farewell To Their Recording Career With Upcoming Album “Ghost Stories”

Pinterest LinkedIn Tumblr +

After the resounding success of their 50th-anniversary celebration, legendary rockers Blue Öyster Cult are eagerly gearing up for an exciting new chapter in their storied career with the upcoming release of “Ghost Stories”. This highly anticipated album marks a fitting finale to the recording legacy of one of rock’s most iconic fixtures from the past 50 years.

Pre-order “Ghost Stories” HERE.

In a partnership with Frontiers Music SrlBlue Öyster Cult is set to captivate fans with a collection of reimagined and completed songs that span from 1978-2016. These musical treasures, long considered the “lost gems” by Blue Öyster Cult enthusiasts, were originally recorded between 1978 and 1983, except for one track from 2016, “If I Fell”. Also included is the only known recorded performance of their concert classic “Kick Out The Jams” (MC5 cover). Some of the material is from workshopping albums, some from performance rehearsals, and all were recorded once in the hopes that someday they’d see the light of day.

George Geranios, the band’s original audio engineer and an integral part of the band’s golden years, produced the tracks along with Blue Öyster Cult and all were originally recorded on reel-to-reel analog tape. He transferred them to digital audio which is when modern AI and magical musical talents meet and the collection of vintage multi-track recordings was de-mixed, re-mixed, and produced by Steve Schenck and Richie Castellano to become “Ghost Stories”.

Work in the studio for the album was completed by Richie Castellano along with remaining original members Eric Bloom and Donald “Buck Dharma” Roeser, and both Albert Bouchard and Rick Downey appear on drums with additional overdubs recorded by Joe Bouchard. All these original lineup members appearing on “Ghost Stories” create a musical journey that traverses decades and promises easter eggs for days.

To celebrate this exciting announcement, the band shares the single “So Supernatural” along with a new music video that has a super-cool blend of classic rock and modern AI.

As Blue Öyster Cult embraces its “classic rock” phenomenon status, the anticipation for this album is reaching a crescendo. Fans are eager to experience the culmination of the band’s artistic vision and witness the completion of songs that have become part of their folklore. The band will also add some of the songs in their upcoming 2024 shows.

With a legacy spanning over five decades, Blue Öyster Cult continues to be a formidable force in the classic rock scene. The exciting partnership with Frontiers Music Srl and the visionary leadership of Serafino Perugino add an extra layer of anticipation to the release of “Ghost Stories”. As the band bids farewell to their recording career, they do so with a flourish, offering fans a musical odyssey that is sure to leave a lasting imprint on rock history. Truly a remarkable journey.

“Ghost Stories” track listing:

1. Late Night Street Fight
2. Cherry
3. So Supernatural
4. We Gotta Get Out Of This Place
5. Soul Jive
6. Gun
7. Shot In The Dark
8. The Only Thing
9. Kick Out The Jams
10. Money Machine
11. Don’t Come Running
12. If I Fell
13. Roadhouse Blues (bonus track Japan)


Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

error: This content is copyrighted!