Former BLACK SABBATH Singer TONY MARTIN Reveals Track Listing and Artwork for His Upcoming Solo Album “Thorns”

Pinterest LinkedIn Tumblr +

Former BLACK SABBATH singer Tony Martin has set “Thorns” as the title of his long-awaited new solo album, due in the coming months via Battlegod Productions and Dark Star RecordsBattlegod will handle distribution in Australia, Asia, Europe and Japan, while Dark Star will handle distribution in all of North and South America, including both physical and streaming.

Among the guest musicians set to appear on the LP are Scott McClellan (who helped write the album), Danny “Danté” Needham (VENOM), Magnus Rosén (HAMMERFALL), Greg Smith (ALICE COOPERRAINBOWBLUE ÖYSTER CULT) and Martin‘s youngest son Joe.

“Thorns” track listing:

 1. As The World Burns
 2. Black Widow Angel
 3. Book Of Shadows
 4. Crying Wolf
 5. Damned By You
 6. No Shame At All
 7. No Where To Fly
 8. Passion Killer
 9. Run Like The Devil
10. This Is Your Damnation
11. Thorns

Tony said in a statement: “This new album is probably the most ‘Tony Martin‘ a Tony Martin album has ever sounded!! It’s got several surprises that will lift people’s eyebrows, I am sure. Largely but not entirely based around the riffs of Scott McClellan, new to the world scene, he has proved to be a worthy partner in crime for this release… I was able to make some great songs out of the riffs he was coming up with, which is very similar in the writing sense to that which I experienced with Tony Iommi. Different sound and style, but the riffing talent that someone like Scott has is very cool. It is diverse, melodic, powerful, thought-provoking and of a standard high as ever I have worked on. I believe there are stories still to tell, songs still to be sung, and with this album, I feel it’s achieved everything I could have wished for.

“Grateful to the people who have given their extra talents in appearances on this recording. It’s been a challenge in COVID lockdown, getting everyone’s performances from across the world, but in another way, it was a perfect opportunity to get it done.”

Martin‘s last solo album, “Scream”, was released in November 2005 via MTM Music.

BLACK SABBATH released six albums with Martin on vocals: “The Eternal Idol” (1987), “Headless Cross” (1989), “Tyr” (1990), “Cross Purposes” (1994), “Cross Purposes Live” (1995) and “Forbidden” (1995). Eventually, Martin and his “Forbidden”-era band-mates were ousted when guitarist Tony Iommi reunited with SABBATH‘s fellow original members.

For more info on Tony Martin, follow his Facebook page.



Comments are closed.

error: This content is copyrighted!