Symphonic Metal Icons SERENITY Unveil Final New Single ‘The End of Babylon’ From Their Upcoming Album “Nemesis AD”

Pinterest LinkedIn Tumblr +

Shortly before Serenity is heading off on the biggest tour of their career with heavy metal giants Powerwolf, the symphonic metal legends have revealed the final single, ‘The End of Babylon’, from their new studio album, “Nemesis AD”, out November 3, 2023, via Napalm Records.

Successor to “The Last Knight” (2020), “Nemesis AD” is the first record featuring Marco Pastorino of Temperance as additional guitarist and backing vocalist. ‘The End of Babylon’ represents one of the darker, heavier tracks on the new full-length.

Climactic arrangements carry the dramatic storyline of the new single, as the theatrical instrumentation leads the listener to a faraway world while the vocal performance of skilled singer Georg Neuhauser ultimately unlocks the track’s hit potential. The accompanying official music video enchants by illustrating the music’s bombast.

Serenity comments about ‘The End of Babylon’: “With the ‘End of Babylon’, we created a darker song about transience and the end of an era – inspired by the famous work ‘The Whore of Babylon’ by Albrecht Dürer. It’s taken out of the ‘Apocalypse’ series and sadly could fit the latest situation in the middle east. It seems we don’t learn from history.”

Known for their thematic albums inspired by historic characters and stories of the past, on “Nemesis AD”, Serenity draws inspiration from the life and highly influential art of painter Albrecht Dürer of the German Renaissance.

Grandiose intro track ‘Memoriae Alberti Dureri’ sets the scene for the album before legendary singer Roy Khan (Conception, ex-Kamelot) lends his impressive vocals on the mighty ‘The Fall of Man’. ‘Ritter, Tod und Teufel (Knightfall)’ (named after Dürer’s famous artwork) features lyrics sung partially in German, for the first time in the band’s history spanning more than two decades. The powerful track showcases Serenity’s signature blend of orchestral arrangements, heavy guitar riffs, and soaring vocals. Heart-wrenchingly emotional yet empowering ‘Reflections (of AD)’ mesmerizes the listener with its awe-inspiring instrumentation, multifaceted vocals, and brilliant changes throughout the gripping eight-minute track. Theatrical ‘Sun of Justice’ leads the listener to a faraway fantasy world while the vocal performance of skilled singer Georg Neuhauser ultimately unlocks the track’s hit potential. The monumental orchestral version of ‘The Fall of Man’ closes the album on a thrilling note that is sure to send a chill up your spine.

With “Nemesis AD”, Serenity adds yet another bombastic symphonic metal masterpiece to their notable discography.

Serenity comments: “We are always focused on historical themes. Our latest album “The Last Knight” (2020) was about Maximilian I and his era. The narrative unfolds further as we structure our new album around his contemporary Albrecht Dürer, who is one of the most revolutionary and remarkable artists of all time for us, representing a pivotal juncture between the Middle Ages and the Renaissance, bridging Gothic and modern eras.”

“Nemesis AD” is available for pre-order HERE and will be available in the following formats:

  • Wooden Boxset: Digipak, Wax-Sealing Kit, Photobook, Autographed Card
  • 1-LP Gatefold Marbled Vinyl
  • 1-LP Gatefold Black Vinyl
  • 1-CD Digipak + Cover Artwork T-Shirt
  • 1-CD Digipak
  • Digital album
“Nemesis AD” Album Artwork

“Nemesis AD” Track List:

  1. Memoriae Alberti Dureri
  2. The Fall of Man (feat. Roy Khan)
  3. Ritter, Tod und Teufel (Knightfall)
  4. Soldiers Under the Cross
  5. Reflections (of AD)
  6. Sun of Justice
  7. Nemesis
  8. The End of Babylon
  9. Crowned by an Angel
  10. Just the Sky is the Limit
  11. The Fall of Man (Orchestral Version, feat. Roy Khan)


Georg Neuhauser / Vocals
Christian Hermsdörfer / Guitars & Backing Vocals
Marco Pastorino / Guitars & Backing Vocals
Fabio D’Amore / Bass & Backing Vocals
Andreas Schipflinger / Drums & Backing Vocals


Comments are closed.

error: This content is copyrighted!