PRIMORDIAL Announces Latest Album And Shares New Video/Single “Victory Has 1000 Fathers, Defeat Is An Orphan”

Pinterest LinkedIn Tumblr +

Long-running, Dublin, Ireland-based Pagan metallers Primordial will release their tenth full-length, “How It Ends”, on September 29th via Metal Blade Records.

This Irish band has made it clear they are a primal force who consistently lay it all on the line. The follow-up to 2018’s critically lauded “Exile Amongst The Ruins”, “How It Ends” sees them delivering more of their seminal blend of Celtic and black metal, with an extra added urgency, and staring down the apocalypse.

“The title is a question – is this how it ends? How it all goes down: culture, language, history, society, humanity, who knows?,” says vocalist A. A. Nemtheanga. “Regardless of who you are or were, you get one chance at all of this, and it’s asking is this the end of your town, state, nation? Myths, traditions, relationships, and I suppose it asks the question, who reacts, who rebels – how does it end now for them?”

In advance of the record’s release, the band unleashes first single and album closer, ‘Victory Has 1000 Fathers, Defeat Is An Orphan,‘ and its accompanying video. The album was tracked at Hellfire Studios, produced by the band, and engineered by previous collaborator Chris Fielding.

Working alongside founding members Pól MacAmlaigh (bass), Ciáran MacUilliam (guitar), and longtime drummer Simon O’Laoghaire, the band started writing in the Fall of 2022, having lit a fire under themselves to work hastily and productively. Primordial never plans out a record beforehand, letting them come together naturally, though Nemtheanga knew he wanted something with a bigger, more open sound, and something more aggressive, which is exactly what they achieved. “How It Ends is a very angry, defiant, visceral, and rebellious album, and as we worked it all began to take more shape and form itself. It may be the note we go out on but it will be a note of resistance, in musical terms. I think it’s also more metal! And more epic!”

It only takes one listen for these claims to be proven true, whether it’s the surging, gruff, dark ‘Ploughs To Rust, Swords To Dust,’ the moody, desperate ‘Pilgrimage To The World’s End,’ or the sprawling ‘All Against All,’ which is drenched in a sinister air and driven by pounding rhythms, wielding a towering climax. “It certainly sounds like Primordial, there is no doubt about that, we have our own style and this is a new chapter of the same book. If we have done anything new it’s really to work with more conviction than ever, and trust more than ever our instincts.”

Drawing lyrical influence both from modern and historical ideas, Nemtheanga always gives the listener something to think about. “How It Ends” is no exception. “If, for example, “To The Nameless Dead” (2007) was about the movement of borders, building of nations and those sent to war who gave their lives forming them, then this is the album more about resisting those empires, the freedom fighters, the outlaws, the people who made suicidal stands for freedom of speech, or independence, or for the most important word in the English language: liberty. It’s not hard to see why the album is inspired by this considering where we are right now in the world.”

The record is available for pre-order HERE. It will be released in the following formats:

  • (Worldwide) – Digital and 2xLP in Gatefold, with insert and download card
  • (US) – Jewel Case CD
  • (EU) – 2xDigipak CD (6-panel digi w/ 12-page booklet) w/ 6-bonus tracks
  • (EU) 2xLP Special Edition in Gatefold, with insert and download card in slipcase with tote bag, slip-mat, double-sided poster (ltd. to 1000 copies)
“How It Ends” Artwork

“How It Ends” Track-Listing:

  1. How It Ends
  2. Ploughs To Rust, Swords To Dust
  3. We Shall Not Serve
  4. Traidisiúnta
  5. Pilgrimage To The World’s End
  6. Nothing New Under The Sun
  7. Call To Cernunnos
  8. All Against All
  9. Death Holy Death
  10. Victory Has 1000 Fathers, Defeat Is An Orphan

Comments are closed.

error: This content is copyrighted!