NEAL SCHON Shares ‘Just The Same Way’ Performance From “Journey Through Time” Live Album

Pinterest LinkedIn Tumblr +

Frontiers Music Srl will release Neal Schon‘s “Journey Through Time”, a live concert recorded on February 9, 2018 at The Independent In San Francisco, California, on May 19, 2023. This is the show where Schon, founding member of the Rock And Roll Hall Of Fame-inducted band JOURNEY, first debuted “Journey Through Time” along with two-time Rock And Roll Hall Of Fame inductee and former JOURNEY and SANTANA band-mate Gregg Rolie. Joining Schon and Rolie were current JOURNEY member Deen Castronovo on vocals and drums, Marco Mendoza (THIN LIZZY, WHITESNAKE) on bass, and John Varn on keyboards and vocals.

Performing to a sold-out crowd for a benefit show to raise money for victims of the fires that had ravaged the North Bay area of the San Francisco region in October 2017, the band played songs spanning JOURNEY‘s entire catalog, largely focusing on the band’s ’70s repertoire, including the band’s first three albums, “Journey”, “Look Into The Future” and “Next”.

You can now watch a performance video of “Just The Same Way”, below. and pre-order the album HERE.

Multi-Grammy-nominated Schon founded JOURNEY in 1972 and remains the sole consistent member, having participated in every album and tour to date. Before founding JOURNEY, Schon was also a member of SANTANA and has performed with a variety of other acts, including BAD ENGLISH, HARDLINE and HSAS, and with Jan Hammer and Paul Rodgers (BAD COMPANY, FREE). He has released 10 solo albums over the course of his career as well, with his guitar style being described as soulful and melodic and admired by such fellow legends as Eric Clapton and Prince. JOURNEY‘s worldwide sales have reached over 100 million records, making them one of the world’s best-selling bands of all time. Chart-topping hits such as “Don’t Stop Believin'”, “Open Arms”, “Lights”, “Faithfully” and “When You Love A Woman” are regarded as some of the defining songs of the rock n’ roll musical canon.

“Journey Through Time” track listing:

1. I’m Gonna Leave You
2. Look Into The Future
3. Kohoutek
4. Daydream
5. La Do La
6. Line Of Fire
7. Walk’s Like A Lady
8. Feelin’ That Way
9. Anytime
10. Lights
11. Still They Ride
12. Separate Ways
13. Lovin’, Touchin’, Squeezin’
14. Wheel In The Sky
15. Patiently (Medley)
16. Trial By Fire (Medley)
17. Stay Awhile (Medley)
18. Mystery Mountain
19. Of A Lifetime
20. Just The Same Way
21. Lovin’ You Is Easy
22. Lady Luck
23. You’re On Your Own
24. Hustler
25. Nickle And Dime
26. People
27. Mother Father
28. Any Way You Want It
29. Don’t Stop Believin’
30. Black Magic Woman
31. Oye Como Va

“Journey Through Time” Artwork

Recording lineup:

  • Neal Schon / Guitar
  • Gregg Rolie / Keyboards, Vocals
  • Marco Mendoza / Bass
  • Deen Castronovo / Drums, Vocals
  • John Varn / Keyboards, Vocals

Comments are closed.

error: This content is copyrighted!