MAYHEM Release New Song Entitled ‘Voces Ab Alta’ from Upcoming EP “Atavistic Black Disorder / Kommando”

Pinterest LinkedIn Tumblr +

The infamous MAYHEM return this year with an outstanding EP called “Atavistic Black Disorder / Kommando” with additional material from the “Daemon” session, including a homage to bands that laid the foundation for what was to come. The lords of darkness have dug deep and reflected their influences to create a musical odyssey that shows them multifaceted in several ways.

The official visualizer video for the song “Voces Ab Alta”, created by visual artist Costin Chioreanu (GHOSTOPETHNAPALM DEATH), can be seen below. The clip  impressively captures the atmosphere and the darkness of this performance visually. “Voces Ab Alta” was initially recorded during MAYHEM‘s “Daemon” sessions but has remained previously unreleased.

For this goal, cover versions of bands like DISCHARGE, DEAD KENNEDYS, RUDIMENTARY PENI and RAMONES were chosen, which in typical MAYHEM manner impressively fit into their bursting and darkened sound. The band also recruited BILLY MESSIAH and MANIAC, who took over vocal performances on two songs.

In addition to the named cover versions, a previously unreleased track called “Voces Ab Alta” is featured on the EP, which continues the musical journey alongside “Black Glass Communion” and “Everlasting Dying Flame”, which were used as bonus tracks for the 2019 album “Daemon”. The EP thus closes the capital, which was opened with the release of “Daemon” back in 2019 and illuminates the band once again in typical unusual and surprising-sounding way.

The visual concept was once again handled by Italian designer Daniele Valeriani (Lucifer’s Child, Dark Funeral) who already took care of the artwork for their previous long player “Daemon”.

 The band comments: “I always had some punk influences,” says Attila“I guess it comes from my childhood when we were constantly looking for more extreme music. That’s how I discovered Dead Kennedys, GBH, The Exploited, Sex Pistols, U.K. Subs, Discharge, Rudimentary Peni and so on, in the early 80’s, alongside heavy metal. But then I discovered Venom, that was a game changer!”

Necrobutcher further adds: “We got some extra time in the studio recording the Daemon album two years ago, all band members were asked to punch in two cover tracks for some extra material. I chose songs by Deathstrike (The Truth) and Death (Evil Dead) which were both used as the bonus tracks on the album. My other contribution was to bring in two old members because of their obvious connection with punk: Maniac on the Dead Kennedys track and Billy (Messiah) on the Discharge track and some of the others.”

“Atavistic Black Disorder / Kommando” Tracklisting:


  1. Voces Ab Alta
  2. Black Glass Communion
  3. Everlasting Dying Flame


  1. In Defense Of Our Future (Discharge Cover)
  2. Hellnation (Dead Kennedys Cover)
  3. Only Death (Rudimentary Peni Cover)
  4. Commando (Ramones Cover)


Comments are closed.

error: This content is copyrighted!