Legendary Swedish Progressive Folk-Fusion Band KAIPA Returns with 14th Studio Album “Urskog” and a New Drummer, Share Lyric Video for Title Track

Pinterest LinkedIn Tumblr +

Legendary Swedish progressive folk-fusion-rockband KAIPA are set to return with their 14th studio album titled “Urskog”, due out on April 29th, 2022 via Inside Out Music.  The album also features new drummer Darby Todd. Today, the band are pleased to share the lyric video for the album’s first single, the title track “Urksog.” Check it out below.

Hans Lundin comments as follows “The song “Urskog” takes us straight into the heart of the Swedish primeval forest, evoking images of old folklore with its Swedish lyrics. Both the music and the lyrics came to me in a most natural way. I immediately realized that this should also be the title of the new album.”

“Urskog” takes the listener on a breathtaking journey through the Swedish wilderness and the changing seasons. Hans Lundin‘s six new compositions draw influences from the landscapes he witnesses during his solitary countryside biking treks as well as from a less known part of his own vast song catalogue.

Pre-order the limited CD Digipak, Gatefold 180g 2LP + CD & as Digital Album HERE.

Hans comments: Most of the songs were written in 2018. At the time I was working on the 6-CD box “Hans Lundin: The Solo Years 1982-1989”, and revisiting my old solo albums informed my songwriting process for “Urskog”. Listening to these old compositions influenced my new compositions in a general way; there were also few instances where I took a nice chord structure or a melodic fragment of an old song and turned it into something entirely new. I also sampled some sounds from the 80’s that can be heard on the new album.

The new album opens with “The Frozen Dead of the Night”, a 19 minute epic that takes us from the cold and bleak midwinter into the spring and its promise to start life anew. The album’s closing song “The Bitter Setting Sun” mirrors this theme as it’s time to say goodbye to the summer as we watch the leaves falling and recall memories from summer nights when the sun refused to set. The title track “Urskog” takes us deep into the heart of the Swedish primeval forest, evoking images of old folklore with its Swedish lyrics.

While the rest of the band’s lineup remains intact, “Urskog”introduces new drummer Darby Todd from London, UK. Guitarist Per Nilsson explains: When the time came around to start tracking drums, Morgan wasn’t available within any reasonable timeframe so on Morgan‘s own suggestion, we decided to amicably part ways. Morgan’s fantastic and imaginative drumming has adorned the music of Kaipa for almost two decades and eight albums, but for what it’s worth, we felt that this could be an opportunity to bring some new grooves and new sounds into Kaipa. While Hans had a few ideas for the drummer position I only had one person in mind, someone whose creativity and chops rival those of Morgan‘s but with more of a hard-hitting rock edge, and upon seeing a few videos of this guy bashing the skins Hans was convinced too. So, it brings us great joy to present to you Mr Darby Todd as the new drummer for Kaipa! Darby has a resumé fitting a musician of his caliber, having played with Devin Townsend, The Darkness, Gary Moore, Martin Barre and many more, and while the guy is capable of expertly playing everything from death metal to soft jazz, he’s got a strong own voice on his instrument and it’s been exciting hearing him take these six new Kaipa tunes to the skies… and beyond!

Lean back, relax and immerse yourself in the sonic forest of “Urskog”, or better yet use it as the soundtrack for your own wilderness excursion. Get the limited CD Digipak, Gatefold 180g 2LP + CD & as Digital Album HERE.

“Urskog” track-listing:

  1. The Frozen Dead of the Night [18:52]
  2. In a World of Pines [10:04]
  3. Urskog [7:57]
  4. Wilderness Excursion [8:57]
  5. In the Wastelands of My Mind [6:13]
  6. The Bitter Setting Sun [15:20]


  • Hans Lundin / Keyboards, vocals
  • Per Nilsson  / Guitars
  • Jonas Reingold  / Bass
  • Darby Todd / Drums
  • Patrik Lundström  / Vocals
  • Aleena Gibson  / Vocals

Comments are closed.

error: This content is copyrighted!