IHSAHN Will Release Self-Titled Album In February, Listen to First Single “Pilgrimage To Oblivion”

Pinterest LinkedIn Tumblr +

Norwegian multi-instrumentalist Ihsahn has announced his next solo LP, “Ihsahn”, which will be out on February 16 via Candlelight Records. In addition to the traditional album version, Ihsahn‘s new album will also include an orchestral version.

The first single from the forthcoming album, “Pilgrimage To Oblivion”, can be streamed below. Ihsahn comments about the track: “‘Pilgrimage To Oblivion’ serves as a rather immediate introduction to the overarching musical and conceptual aspects of the album. The lyrics go directly into the storyline and the video is the first in a sequel of videos portraying the whole story.”

“On average, I’ve been releasing a full-length album every second year since I was 16. And, you know, that has given me some opportunity to explore different options, so for my eighth full-length solo record, I thought, ‘Okay, how can I do what I do best, but also raise the bar tenfold?’ At the heart of what I do is black metal, extreme distorted guitars, and screaming, but since the earliest Emperor recordings you’ll hear the keyboard parts influenced by classic soundtracks by the likes of Jerry Goldsmith, John Williams, Bernard Herrmann, John Carpenter, and so on. So, I approached the writing with the intent to present the material in its full-blown metal expression, but also to arrange the orchestral parts in such a way that they would work independently. Somehow an attempt to write a soundtrack within the structures of the full production, allowing me to explore different, and sometimes contrasting, variations of essentially the same music. In the end, I wrote all the music as a piano short-score and arranged it for a typical band ensemble and orchestra, accordingly, making sure everything interlocked.”

“Ihsahn” features Tobias Ørnes Andersen and Tobias Solbakk on drums and percussion, with Ihsahn‘s son Angell Solberg Tveitan adding additional percussion and violins by Chris Baum. The artwork was created by Ritxi Ostari, and pre-orders are underway HERE.

“Ihsahn” Tracklisting:

1. Cervus Venator
2. The Promethean Spark
3. Pilgrimage To Oblvision
4. Twice Born
5. A Taste Of The Ambrosia
6. Anima Extraneae
7. Blood Trails To Love
8. Hubris And Blue Devils
9. The Distance Between Us
10. At The Heart Of All Things Broken
11. Sonata Profana


Comments are closed.

error: This content is copyrighted!