ENSLAVED Reveals “Fenris” Live Video/Single

Pinterest LinkedIn Tumblr +

Left-field metal luminaries Enslaved have revealed the next audiovisual gem taken from their forthcoming “Cinematic Tour 2020” live releases. As part of their 30th anniversary revelries, the band has today premiered a live video for their single ‘Fenris’. A classic track from their early arsenal – though black metal to its core, ‘Fenris’ nevertheless hinted at their kosmische obsessions that lurked behind the curtain.

This performance of ‘Fenris’is taken from their upcoming live release “Chronicles of the Northbound (Cinematic Tour 2020)”which sees Enslaved fly through a career spanning entirely fan-voted set of favorites. It is one part of their four new live album/DVD “Cinematic Tour 2020” collection due to be released on June 25th.

Grutle Kjellson commented: Fenris was perhaps the first song we wrote that got a massive encore demand, and before we actually had a lot of songs to pick from, we even played it twice during a set… haha. So, since all the songs on the Chronicles of the Northbound set was handpicked and voted for by our fans, it wasn’t a big shock that the grand old wolf was among the chosen ones.

Fenris has been present on many of our setlists for pretty close to 30 years now, and it is still a great song for both ourselves to perform and for the audience to absorb. It’s a very energetic song, and its lyrical concept deals with letting the energy flow naturally without trying to enslave (bish!) it. The consequences can be fatal if you keep the wolf in captivity for too long. Let loose your inner wolf, the inevitable tide, and enjoy!”

Enslaved will be releasing four new live albums/DVDs on June 25th, with audio and visuals taken from their highly revered digital performances in 2020. 

  • “The Rise of Ymir” (Verftet Online Festival 2020) 
  • “Chronicles of the Northbound” (Cinematic Tour 2020)
  • “Below The Lights” (Cinematic Tour 2020)
  • “Utgard – The Journey Within” (Cinematic Tour 2020)

The releases will be available via the following formats: 

  • Splatter Vinyl (Ltd. edition 300 copies)
  • 4 x CD/DVD boxset (Ltd. edition 1000 copies)
  • 4 x DVD (Ltd. edition 1000 copies)
  • Digital albums

For more information on physical formats head to the By Norse Store

Physical pre-order available here and digital pre-order now available here

“The Rise of Ymir” chronicles Enslaved‘s debut digital show, which took place on April 1st 2020 at USF, Bergen, as part of the Verftet Online Music Festival. 

“Chronicles of the Northbound”, Below The Lights” and Utgard – The Journey Within” detail their Cinematic Summer Tour digital shows which took place last summer. The events were collaborations with respected European festivals Roadburn, Beyond The Gates and Summer Breeze.


Comments are closed.

error: This content is copyrighted!