WHITESNAKE’s Guitarist JOEL HOEKSTRA’s Band JOEL HOEKSTRA’s 13 Releases Video for “Finish Line”

Pinterest LinkedIn Tumblr +

Joel Hoekstra, best known to rock fans as the current guitarist for Whitesnake and Trans-Siberian Orchestra (and also known for his work with Night Ranger and the Broadway show Rock of Ages), returns with his second album, “Running Games” from his electrifying solo project, Joel Hoekstra’s 13 on February 12, 2021. Joined by Russell Allen (vocals), Tony Franklin (bass), Vinny Appice (drums), and Derek Sherinian (keyboards), Joel and company pick up where his debut, “Dying to Live” left off. Enjoy the track “Finish Line” and the accompanying awesome animated music video below.

Pre-order/save the album here: https://orcd.co/runninggames

Hoekstra once again handles the bulk of the creative process, overseeing production, songwriting and arranging (music and lyrics), and crafting his vision for this powerful hard rock gem. Add Chris Collier’s masterful mixing and the result is ‘70s/’80s classic hard rock with 2020’s muscle. As with the debut, “Running Games” features an all-star cast of musicians with the amazing Jeff Scott Soto also lending a helping hand with background vocals.

Says Joel: “Years ago, I released three solo albums that were mainly instrumental guitar music. With Joel Hoekstra’s 13, I have started to work on something that showcases my production, writing, and playing in the genre that I’m known for, which is melodic hard rock.”

Like “Dying to Live”, “Running Games” can be described as DIO’ish at it’s heaviest but is also influenced by the blues- based sound of Whitesnake as well as melodic bands like Foreigner, Journey, and the like. Hoekstra says:  “‘Hard to Say Goodbye’ definitely represents the more melodic sound of the album, but rock fans can also look forward to some aggressive tracks.”

On “Running Games”, lyrically Joel focuses on escaping problems both past and present by providing playful, imaginary, and serious takes on the situations. Long hailed for his fiery, tasteful guitar playing, Hoekstra’s playing here raises the bar to a new level.

“Running Games” Album Artwork

“Running Games” Track-Listing:

  1.  Finish Line
  2. I’m Gonna Lose It
  3. Hard to Say Goodbye
  4. How Do You
  5. Heart Attack
  6. Fantasy
  7. Lonely Days
  8. Reach the Sky
  9. Cried Enough for You
  10. Take What’s Mine
  11. Running Games
  12. Lay Down Your Love (Bonus Track – Digital)


  • Joel Hoekstra(Whitesnake/TransSiberian Orchestra) – Guitars
  • Russell Allen (Symphony X, Adrenaline Mob) / Lead vocals, backing vocals
  • Vinny Appice (ex-Black Sabbath, DIO) / Drums
  • Tony Franklin (ex-The Firm, Blue Murder) / Bass
  • Derek Sherinian (Sons of Apollo, ex-Dream Theater, Black Country Communion) / Keyboards
  • Jeff Scott Soto (Sons Of Apollo, TransSiberian Orchestra) / Backing vocals

Special Guests:

  • Lenny Castro (TOTO) / Percussion
  • Chloe Lowery (Trans-Siberian Orchestra) / Backing vocals
  • Dave Eggar (Evanescence, Coldplay) / Cello
  • Katie Kresek (Adele, Five For Fighting) / Violin, viola

Comments are closed.

error: This content is copyrighted!