VOLBEAT Releases Music Video For ‘Temple Of Ekur’

Pinterest LinkedIn Tumblr +

Danish/American rock and rollers VOLBEAT have released the official music video for the song “Temple Of Ekur”. The clip, which was directed by Shan Dan and VisualHype, can be seen below. “Temple Of Ekur” is taken from VOLBEAT‘s eighth studio album, “Servant Of The Mind”, which was released in December via Republic Records.

Revolver called “Servant Of The Mind” “excellent… the darkest and heaviest VOLBEAT offering yet.” For the LP, the band, which consists of Michael Poulsen (guitar, vocals), Larsen, Rob Caggiano (guitars) and Kaspar Boye Larsen (bass), took its signature heavy metal, psychobilly and punk ‘n’ roll sound up a notch while showcasing Poulsen‘s keen ability for songwriting and storytelling. “Rarely has such a successful band sounded so ravenous,” says Kerrang! magazine of the album.

Order “Servant Of The Mind” now HERE

“I wrote the whole album in three months,” recalls Poulsen, “I was in a good place and mood while at home, and had a captive audience of myself… There are a lot of VOLBEAT signatures in it. If you go back to the first record and compare it to where we are now, you can hear how the band has developed its style, while keeping the signature sound.”

The album also includes the “double barrel” of summer songs the band released this past June: “Wait A Minute My Girl” and “Dagen Før” (featuring Stine Bramsen), the former of which became the band’s ninth number one single on the Billboard Mainstream Rock chart.

Other songs on the album weave intricate and fascinating tales. “The Devil Rages On” looks at the idea of the devil taking human form. Album opener “Temple Of Ekur” returns to the ancient themes explored in past songs such as “The Gates Of Babylon”, while the epic album closer “Lasse’s Birgita” explores the story of the first witch burnings to occur in Sweden in 1471.

“Servant Of The Mind” standard edition track listing:

 1. Temple Of Ekur
 2. Wait A Minute My Girl
 3. The Sacred Stones
 4. Shotgun Blues
 5. The Devil Rages On
 6. Say No More
 7. Heaven’s Descent
 8. Dagen Før (Feat. Stine Bramsen)
 9. The Passenger
10. Step Into Light
11. Becoming
12. Mindlock
13. Lasse’s Birgitta

VOLBEAT is two decades deep into a career that has found them sharing stages with genre legends like BLACK SABBATHMETALLICAMOTÖRHEADSLIPKNOTMEGADETHANTHRAX and more. They have racked up nearly three billion cumulative streams over the course of their career, notched a “Best Metal Performance” Grammy nomination for “Room 24” (featuring King Diamond) from 2014’s acclaimed (and gold-selling) “Outlaw Gentlemen & Shady Ladies”, and have grabbed multiple Danish Music Awards. Not ones to rest on their laurels, their last album “Servant Of The Mind”, which was written and recorded during the shutdown and quarantine necessitated by the COVID-19 pandemic, is introspective but pulls no punches and is no less raucous or driving than their previous efforts.


Comments are closed.

error: This content is copyrighted!