THEOCRACY Announces New Studio Album “Mosaic”, Shares Music Video For First Single ‘Return To Dust’

Pinterest LinkedIn Tumblr +

Last week, US progressive power metal quintet THEOCRACY announced their signing to Atomic Fire Records, and the new partners aren’t wasting any time in revealing details of the group’s highly- anticipated forthcoming studio album, while revealing the music video for the first single “Return to Dust”.

As brilliantly showcased by its stained-glass-window-like artwork by Steven Howard, the offering has been given the name “Mosaic”. The ten new hymns were recorded, produced, and mixed by THEOCRACY’s own Matt Smith at Theocracized Studios and Full Moon Studios in Athens, GA, and rounded off by skillful mastering engineers Emily Lazar and Chris Allgood at The Lodge, NY.

“Mosaic” will be supplied in various formats to THEOCRACY’s loyal followers worldwide on October 13, 2023 via Atomic Fire Records, and can be pre-ordered now.

“Mosaic” will be available in the following formats:

  • CD-digipak (EU)
  • Jewelcase-CD (US)
  • Various coloured vinyls (orange/black marbled | transparent/blue | crystal clear/black high melt)
  • Digital
“Mosaic” Album Artwork

“Mosaic” Track Listing:

  1. Flicker
  2. Anonymous
  3. Mosaic
  4. Sinsidious (The Dogs Of War)
  5. Return To Dust
  6. The Sixth Great Extinction
  7. Deified
  8. The Greatest Hope
  9. Liar, Fool, Or Messiah
  10. Red Sea

Formed in 2002 to spread their majestic metal in the likes of STRATOVARIOUS, SONATA ARCTICA, and SYMPHONY-X, THEOCRACY released four critically acclaimed studio albums, building a loyal fanbase as well. Now teaming up with Atomic Fire Records, the band consisting of Matt Smith (lead/backing vocals), Ernie Topran (drums), Jared Oldham (bass/backing vocals), Jonathan Hinds (guitars/backing vocals) and Taylor Washington (guitars/backing vocals) are more than ready to take THEOCRACY to the next level.

Vocalist Matt Smith comments, “We are thrilled to be members of the Atomic Fire Records family. From our first meeting, it was obvious that they’ve loved and supported our music for many years, long before there was a possibility we might work together. This personal touch was very important to us, and combined with their impressive roster featuring some of our favorite bands, we are so excited to work together for this new album release and beyond!”

Atomic Fire Records A&R Markus Wosgien enthuses, “We’re more than happy to welcome THEOCRACY to the Atomic Fire Records family! With their latest album “Ghost Ship,” the band created a milestone in power/progressive metal history and I remember very well that I had the CD on endless rotation in my car for several years – and it keeps blowing me away. It’s just one of those records which you’d pick for a trip to a lonely island, it’s an album that recalls why one has become a metalhead: Because such tunes make addicted, one needs to sing along to them, and they fulfill our hearts. With their upcoming new album, THEOCRACY has taken it all another step further and has reached a new level, without repeating themselves but with adding more diversity to their sound. The world stands in awe of an album full of hymns, beauty, and pure magic once again.”

For more than 20 years, Matt Smith has been pouring his life blood into THEOCRACY, creating a legacy and back catalog that grants him a safe space to breathe and develop his vision.

“It’s my life’s work,” says Smith. “All I wanted to do since I was a kid was writing songs, so THEOCRACY existed in my mind for many years before the first album. It’s the vehicle that has taken me all around the world and allowed me to exceed my wildest dreams by getting my songs out, and I am so thankful.”


  • Matt Smith / lead & backing vocals
  • Jonathan Hinds / guitars & backing vocals
  • Taylor Washington / guitars & backing vocals
  • Jared Oldham / bass & backing vocals
  • Ernie Topran / drums

Comments are closed.

error: This content is copyrighted!