Progressive Rock Band Kayak Finds New Vinyl Life with Reissue of ‘Phantom of the Night’

Pinterest LinkedIn Tumblr +

Legendary progressive rock Dutch band Kayak has been hitting the stage since 1972 and has spanned seventeen total studio albums to date. Now in 2020 concerts are canceled and music venues are closed until an undisclosed date, but this doesn’t stop this band.

Renaissance Records has announced the arrival of Kayak’s 1978 album, “Phantom of the Night.” This album gained Kayak commercial popularity with their single, “Ruthless Queen” reaching number six on the Dutch charts back in 1979. This digitally remastered album captures the progressive nature and melodic pop-rock sound that is Kayak. This Dutch rock band is led by their solid lineup of lead vocalist Edward Reekers, guitarist Johan Slager, keyboardist Tom Scherpenzeel, bass guitarist Peter Scherpenzeel, drummer Max Werner, backup vocalist Katherine Lapthorn and backup vocalist Irene Linders.

This album includes all ten tracks from “Phantom of the Night” including song ‘Ruthless’,Phantom of the Night‘ and ‘Daphne’. This limited edition 180g LP album has been put together with deluxe incentives. This includes trading cards of the original band members, restored liner notes, poster, lyric sheet and a bumper sticker.

Phantom of the Night” Track-List

Side 1
1. Keep the Change
2. Winning Ways
3. Daphne
4. Journey Through Time
5. Phantom of the Night

Side 2
1. Crime of Passion
2. The Poet and the One Man Band
3. Ruthless Queen
4. No Man’s Land
5. First Signs of Spring


Comments are closed.

error: This content is copyrighted!