PARADISE LOST Unveils Reimagined Gothic Metal Classic “Icon” On Its 30th Anniversary

Pinterest LinkedIn Tumblr +

Prepare for a hauntingly beautiful blast from the past as British gothic metal trailblazers Paradise Lost mark the 30th anniversary of their iconic fourth album, “Icon.” In celebration of this milestone, the band has meticulously re-recorded the LP, delivering a special new release that’s set to enrapture both old fans and new.

To make this anniversary even more special, Paradise Lost is also offering an “extra special vinyl” version of the album, adding a tangible element to this auditory journey. Both versions of “Icon 30” will become available to fans on December 1, igniting nostalgia and excitement among the metal community.

For those eager to get a taste of the revitalized “Icon,” the re-recorded version of ‘Embers Fire’ is now available for streaming. This track showcases the band’s renewed energy and their dedication to keeping their iconic work alive.

Frontman Nick Holmes shared his thoughts on this special project, expressing gratitude to fans who have already pre-ordered “Icon 30.” He also treated fans to a taste of what’s to come by sharing a new version of ‘Widow’ from the album.

“Looking back 30 years ago we seemed to perpetually be making music videos around the time we originally recorded “Icon”, one of the most memorable was the ‘Widow’ video. As health and safety didn’t seem to exist, and while it was definitely no fun for him, just watching Aaron [Aedy, guitar] hanging by his feet, suspended by rope whilst blasted with a high powered water canon was highly amusing at the time, and it’s funnier to think the prospect of making such a video nowadays would more than likely result in at least one of us ending up in A&E [‘Accident and Emergency’ department, the U.K.’s equivalent of an American emergency room].”

“Icon 30” isn’t merely a reissue; it’s a complete re-recording of “Icon.” Paradise Lost once again joined forces with their longtime collaborator and producer, Jaime Gomez Arellano, to breathe new life into the album. The band recorded the vocals and drums for “Icon 30” at Jaime‘s state-of-the-art Arda Recorders studio in Porto, Portugal. The remaining parts of the album were meticulously crafted at guitarist Greg Mackintosh‘s Black Planet Studios. To add a modern touch, “Icon 30” showcases new artwork by Scott Robinson and features fresh liner notes from Kerrang!‘s Nick Ruskell.

Holmes emphasized the necessity of re-recording the album: “Our specific record deal around the time we signed for the “Icon” album meant we would never actually own the rights to our music or artwork, so going forward, to reissue the album ourselves for the 30th anniversary, it was necessary to re-record and completely re-do the album cover. Re-recording ‘Icon’ has not only enabled us to release it as a series of collectors editions on vinyl, but it was also great to revisit some songs from a lifetime ago. Nothing can replace those original recordings or ever will, they are a nostalgic part of all our lives but it has been a lot of fun revisiting those early [Music For Nations] days once again, and I hope the end result displays that!”

“Icon” was a pivotal moment for Paradise Lost, representing a departure from the death-doom sound of their earlier work. This album also marked the final appearance of drummer Matthew Archer.

In a testament to the enduring influence of “Icon,” the album was inducted into the Decibel “Hall Of Fame” in February 2018. The magazine recognized its profound impact on the development of the gothic metal subgenre, solidifying Paradise Lost‘s place in the annals of metal history.

As “Icon 30” approaches, fans can look forward to revisiting this pivotal album in a fresh light, making it a must-listen for aficionados of the gothic metal genre.

“Icon 30” is available for pre-order HERE.

“Icon 30” Album Artwork

“Icon 30” track listing:

  1. Embers Fire
  2. Remembrance
  3. Forging Sympathy
  4. Joys Of The Emptiness
  5. Dying Freedom
  6. Widow
  7. Colossal Rains
  8. Weeping Words
  9. Poison
  10. True Belief
  11. Shallow Seasons
  12. Christendom
  13. Deus Misereatur


Comments are closed.

error: This content is copyrighted!