NORMA JEAN Shares Official Music Video for ‘1994’

Pinterest LinkedIn Tumblr +

NORMA JEAN has released the official music video for the song “1994”. It’s comprised of footage spanning the entirety of the band’s career. The song is taken from NORMA JEAN‘s ninth album, “Deathrattle Sing For Me”, which came out last August via Solid State Records.

“If you film your band for 20+ years and never do anything with it, you end up with a box full of VHS and hi-8 tapes like what happened to me,” says singer Cory Brandan. “Instead of making that expensive documentary you were always hoping to make, just make a three-minute music video instead.”

Oeder “Deathrattle Sing For Me” HERE.

NORMA JEAN invites an intense level of intimacy on “Deathrattle Sing For Me”, the band’s ninth full-length. The group plunges into unparalleled emotional depths, as if their very existence depended upon the catharsis these 13 tracks promised.

“This record was really about banding together,” observes Brandan. “It embodies the camaraderie of our brotherhood in NORMA JEAN. At the time, we needed something to do, and we wrote these songs for our own souls. The record was necessary to keep me alive in a very literal sense. It’s a deeper place.”

The band unearthed a searing signature style on “O’ God, The Aftermath” in 2005. They struck up a creative partnership with iconic producer Ross Robinson on the seminal “Redeemer” (2007) and “The Anti Mother” (2008). The latter notably boasted appearances by Chino Moreno of DEFTONES and Page Hamilton of HELMET.

“Deathrattle Sing For Me” Album Artwork

Following the acclaimed “Meridional” (2010),“Wrongdoers” (2013) represented a critical high watermark with a 9-out-of-10 score from Rock Sound and 9-out-of-10 score from Outburn. On the heels of “Polar Similar” (2016),they reached another level on “All Hail” (2019). In a perfect 5-star review, New Noise Magazine raved, “‘All Hail’ is yet another momentous accomplishment on their part,” while Kerrang! attested, ‘All Hail’‘s ambition and execution is worthy of worship.” Along the way, they toured with everyone from ROB ZOMBIE and KORN to MASTODON, LAMB OF GOD, and more. During 2021, they recorded what would become “Deathrattle Sing For Me” with longtime collaborator Jeremy SH Griffith. They nodded to inspirations as diverse as ALICE IN CHAINS“Dirt”, THE SMASHING PUMPKINS“Siamese Dream”, and the sample-and-riff onslaught of WHITE ZOMBIE‘s “La Sexorcisto: Devil Music Volume 1”.

“Deathrattle Sing For Me” track listing:

 1. 1994
 2. Call For The Blood
 3. Spearmint Revolt
 4. Memorial Hoard
 5. Aria Obscura
 6. Any%
 7. Parallella
 8. W W A V V E
 9. A Killing Word
10. Penny Margs
11. el-roi
12. Sleep Explosion
13. Heartache


Comments are closed.

error: This content is copyrighted!