Music Industry Calling for “Blackout Tuesday” In Solidarity with Black Community Following GEORGE FLOYD Death

Google+ Pinterest LinkedIn Tumblr +

A number of record labels and other music industry members have joined forces calling for a “Blackout Tuesday” in response to the death of George Floyd and nationwide protests.

On Friday (May 29), less than a week after Floyd was suffocated by a Minneapolis police officer during an arrest, numerous music companies and artists began spreading a message on social media calling for “a day to disconnect from work and reconnect with out community” and “an urgent step of action to provoke accountability and change.”

Warner Records, Universal, Sony, Interscope Geffen and Columbia are among the labels that have pledged to “disconnect from work and reconnect with our community” on Tuesday.

“Due to recent events please join us as we take an urgent step of action to provoke accountability and change. As gatekeepers of the culture, it’s our responsibility to not only come together to celebrate the wins, but also hold each other up during loss,” reads the statement, which is being circulated under the hashtag #TheShowMustBePaused.

Universal Music Group spoke out against the killing of Floyd, writing on social media: “In the words of Dr. King, ‘There comes a time when silence is betrayal.’ When you have a responsibility to raise your voice for change. That time has come. There’s no place in this world for hate and violence. In the face of bigotry and prejudice, we’re proud of the way our artists, songwriters and employees have spoken out. At UMG, we’re committed to being a force for constructive change.”

Columbia wrote: “We stand together with the Black community against all forms of racism, bigotry, and violence. Now, more than ever, we must use our voices to speak up and challenge the injustices all around us.”

 

 
 
 
 
 
View this post on Instagram
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

 

BLACK LIVES MATTER. #THESHOWMUSTBEPAUSED

A post shared by Capitol Records (@capitolrecords) on

 

 
 
 
 
 
View this post on Instagram
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

 

A post shared by Warner Records (@warnerrecords) on

 

 
 
 
 
 
View this post on Instagram
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

 

A post shared by Island Records (@islandrecords) on

 

 
 
 
 
 
View this post on Instagram
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

 

A post shared by Columbia Records (@columbiarecords) on

 

 
 
 
 
 
View this post on Instagram
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

 

A post shared by Sony Music (@sonymusic) on

 

 
 
 
 
 
View this post on Instagram
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

 

A post shared by Interscope Records (@interscope) on

 

 
 
 
 
 
View this post on Instagram
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

 

A post shared by Def Jam Recordings (@defjam) on

 

 
 
 
 
 
View this post on Instagram
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

 

A post shared by ASCAP (@ascap) on

Share.

Comments are closed.