MUSHROOMHEAD Unveils Cinematic Post-Apocalyptic Music Video For New Single ‘The Heresy’

Google+ Pinterest LinkedIn Tumblr +

The official music video for “The Heresy”, a new song from Cleveland masked metallers MUSHROOMHEAD, can be seen below. The track is taken from the band’s eighth album, “A Wonderful Life”, which will be released on June 19 via Napalm Records.

Hair-raisingly dynamic and socially-inclined, “The Heresy” is a melodic, haunting rally cry featuring the stunning lead vocals of Ms. Jackie, which were recorded at the world-famous Abbey Road Studios in London. The new music video sees the band continue their tradition of releasing cinematic music videos of the highest quality, this time taking place inside of a post-apocalyptic bunker. Vocalist J Mann described the track as “the soundtrack to a dystopian delirium, cinematic and surreal!”

MUSHROOMHEAD mastermind and drummer/percussionist Steve “Skinny” Felton says about the video: “We wanted to do something a little more thought-provoking this time around. With the current state of the world going to Hell in a hand basket, we wanted to incorporate something that delivered the swift transportation of certain doom. The manufacturing of war power and the stockpiling of faith. The willful destruction of the past, the future, and ultimately humanity.”

For the better part of the past five years, top-charting masked metal machine MUSHROOMHEAD have been crafting the epic follow up to their monumental 2014 full-length album “The Righteous & The Butterfly” – waiting ever-so-patiently to drop their next collection of anthems. The Cleveland collective make their prodigious return with the new full-length oeuvre “A Wonderful Life” – the eighth release of their benchmark career – out June 19, 2020 via Napalm Records.

Available in several enticing formats, “A Wonderful Life” clocks in at a whopping 70+ minutes with its four bonus tracks – leaving a total of 17 stellar compositions in its wake for fans to devour. “A Wonderful Life” is accented by the sharp production of band mastermind/drummer Skinny, as well as the standout mixing prowess of Matt Wallace (Faith No More, 3 Doors Down), also recognized for his work on the band’s classic offering “XIII”.

Pre-order “A Wonderful Life” at this location

“A Wonderful Life” Album Artwork

At its start, an ominous choir invites the listener into “A Wonderful Life” – introductory track “A Requiem For Tomorrow” smoothly shifts into an industrial-metal inspired, grooving punch to the gut juxtaposed with a melodic, synth-laden chorus. This sets the stage for stocky, chant-worthy anthems such as “Seen It All” and hair-raising, politically-inclined tracks like “The Heresy” and “Carry On”, both featuring the sinister multi-voice attack of new full-time vocalist Ms. Jackie and returning longtime vocalist J Mann, with an extra strike from aforementioned new vocalist Mr. Rauckhorst on the latter. Tracks like “What A Shame”, “I Am The One” and “Madness Within” will prove a treat for new and diehard MUSHROOMHEAD fans alike – providing the macabre inspiration followers have come to crave with a weighty dose of galloping drums and bone-rattling guitars, to boot.

MUSHROOMHEAD attacks track after track with a refreshed focus, delivering a carefully-curated selection of certified future hits. “A Wonderful Life” re-cements the band’s position as one of the most consistently impactful heavy bands of our generation.

A Wonderful Life Track-list: 

1. A Requiem for Tomorrow
2. Madness Within
3. Seen it All
4. The Heresy
5. What a Shame
6. Pulse
7. Carry On
8. The Time has Come
9. 11th Hour
10. I am the One
11. The Flood
12. Where the End Begins
13. Confutatis
14. To the Front (Bonus Track)
15. Sound of Destruction (Bonus Track)
16. Another Ghost (Bonus Track)
17. Lacrimosa (Bonus Track)

“A Wonderful Life” will be available in the following formats*:

  • CD Digipak              
  • 2 LP Gatefold Black + Mask
  • Digital Album      
  • 2 LP Gatefold Gold / Black Inkspot + Mask
  • CD Digipak + Cover T-Shirt Bundle        
  • 2 LP Gatefold Gold / Black Inkspot + Mask + Cover T-Shirt Bundle – US Mailorder Only
  • 2 LP Gatefold Black + Mask + Cover T-Shirt Bundle – USA Mailorder Only            
  • Skateboard ONLY 
  • CD Digipak + Skateboard – USA Mailorder Only             
  • 2 LP Gatefold Black + Mask + Skateboard – USA Mailorder Only           
  • 2 LP Gatefold Gold / Black Inkspot + Mask + Skateboard Bundle – USA Mailorder Only    
  • CD Digipak + Cover T-Shirt + Skateboard Bundle – USA Mailorder Only               
  • 2 LP Gatefold Black + Mask + Cover T-Shirt + Skateboard Bundle – USA Mailorder Only   
  • 2 LP Gatefold Gold / Black Inkspot + Mask + Cover T-Shirt + Skateboard Bundle – USA Mailorder Only

*All first edition vinyl pressings of “A Wonderful Life” include a cardboard punch out mask to help you become the next member of MUSHROOMHEAD.


  • Mr. Rauckhorst / Vocals
  • J Mann / Vocals
  • Ms. Jackie / Vocals
  • Dr. F / Keyboards & Bass guitar
  • Tankx / Guitar
  • Stitch / Keyboards & Samples
  • Diablo / Drums/Percussion
  • Skinny / Drums/Percussion

MUSHROOMHEAD online: WebsiteFacebookInstagramTwitterNapalm Records


Comments are closed.