KINGS OF MERCIA (Featuring FATES WARNING, ARMORED SAINT and FM Members) Share Official Music Video for “Sweet Revenge”

Pinterest LinkedIn Tumblr +

Acclaimed rock/metal guitarist Jim Matheos (Fates Warning, Arch/Matheos) joined powerhouse rock vocalist Steve Overland (FM) to create the new group Kings of Mercia. Accompanying the duo on their upcoming debut album were MatheosFates Warning band-mate Joey Vera on bass, and legendary drummer Simon Philips.  The self-titled album was released on September 23rd, 2022 via Metal Blade Records.

Today, Kings of Mercia have shared the official music video for the song “Sweet Revenge”. Watch the video for the single below.

Vocalist Steve Overland comments: “I love “Sweet Revenge”, it’s a very dark sultry track, all centred around a great heavy riff from Jim. Once again great performances from all the band on this track, one of my favorite K.O.M. tracks”.

“Kings of Mercia” track-list:

1. Wrecking Ball  3:54
2. Humankind  4:13
3. Sweet Revenge  4:38
4. Set the World on Fire  4:16
5. Too Far Gone   6:07
6. Liberate Me   4:18
7. Nowhere Man   4:20
8. Everyday Angels    3:59
9. Is It Right?   4:03
10.Your Life   6:07

“Kings Of Mercia” Album Artwork

Best known as the founding guitarist for Fates Warning, but with countless other projects under his belt – including Arch / Matheos and most recently Tuesday The SkyJim Matheos is incapable of stifling his creativity. In early 2021, he started working on the songs that would become Kings Of Mercia’s self-titled debut album, bringing his distinct style yet doing something a little different. “I started writing without any real idea of what direction I wanted to go in or what I was going to do with the material. The first few songs came together quickly and were a bit more straightforward than Im used to, and I really liked that idea, kind of going back to my early heavy/hard rock roots.”  Not having any pre-conceived ideas of what the record should or would end up sounding like, at least early on, certainly helped, “as did the fact that its our first record, so there was nothing to measure it against or expectations to live up to, even if only in my own head.”
Churning out songs, Matheos’ next concern was to find the musicians who would help him realize the material, and his first priority was a vocalist. It was his friend Jeff Wagner who suggested FM’s Steve Overland, and another friend, rock journalist Dave Ling, who put them in touch with each other. “Jim had asked Dave for my contact details, we talked about his idea for mixing the two styles, his heavier background, with my melodic/bluesier direction,” says Overland. “We decided to try a collaboration on one song and see how it worked, we came up with the track Humankind”, and we both loved it.”. Having already settled on this hard rock direction, it was only once Matheos got the first couple of songs back from Overland that it became all the way clear of the shape the record would take, with the vocalist sending over his parts every few weeks, everything gradually coming together.

Behind the kit for the record is the legendary Simon Phillips (ex-Toto, Derek Sherinian), one of Matheos’ favorite drummers. “I decided to contact him on a whim, not really expecting that hed be available or interested in this project. But, to my surprise, he liked the music and was able to fit some recording into his schedule. Its an honor to share a credit with him and I couldnt be happier with what he added to the record.”

Rounding out the group is bassist Joey VeraMatheosFates Warning band-mate – who brings his trademark style and professionalism to the table. “My old friend and co-worker Joey Vera was a natural choice for bass. Not only did I know he would deliver performance-wise, but it was nice to have a familiar face among the new personalities.” With these players involved it was an easy, stress-free process throughout, making music for the love of it, and coming up with something that sounds familiar yet new, expanding the repertoire of all involved. This means songs like the half-acoustic ballad, half-swaggering “Too Far Gone” or the beautiful “Everyday Angels”, and the soaring “Wrecking Ball”, which opens the record on a high note, all brought to life in dynamic style.

  • Jim Matheos / Guitars
  • Steve Overland / Vocals
  • Joey Vera / Bass
  • Simon Phillips / Drums

Comments are closed.

error: This content is copyrighted!