Iamthemorning Pianist Gleb Kolyadin Premieres First Track “The Best of Days” Feat. Steve Hogarth of Marillion From His Upcoming Debut Album

Pinterest LinkedIn Tumblr +

Following the success of two highly-praised albums with Iamthemorning, Russian virtuoso pianist Gleb Kolyadin affirms his musical authority with his debut, self-titled album on Kscope, on 23rd February 2018. The record features a staggering who’s-who of performers, including: Gavin Harrison (KING CRIMSON / PORCUPINE TREE) on drums; Nick Beggs (STEVEN WILSON) on bass; Theo Travis (ROBERT FRIPP / PORCUPINE TREE / STEVEN WILSON) on flute and saxophone; the unmistakable voice and lyrics of Steve Hogarth (Marillion) alongside Mick Moss (ANTIMATTER); and Jordan Rudess (DREAM THEATER) on additional keys.

The first track to be revealed entitled “The Best Of Days” features the instantly recognizable vocals from Marillion’s Steve Hogarth. On the collaboration Steve comments, “Gleb is a beautiful pianist and a great musician. I was invited to collaborate on his new solo album and my mind was made up as soon as I heard the music.” The video for the wonderful track can be seen below.

“Gleb Kolyadin” is an emotive exploration of self-identity; a story of two parts with interweaving leitmotifs. The album’s central concept weaves through an elaborate tonal and thematic structure, built around the extraordinary rhythm section of Gavin Harrison and Nick Beggs, which is accented at its focal points by guest appearances from Steve Hogarth, Jordan Rudess, Mick Moss and Theo Travis. “Gleb is the single greatest pianist I’ve ever met in my life.” says Daniel Cavanagh (ANATHEMA). The album is a collaborative piece with each musician recording their own parts separately, starting with Gleb recording himself on grand piano in Moscow Winter-Spring 2017 at the famed Mosfilm studio. The album was mixed and engineered by Vlad Avy, who also previously worked on the two Iamthemorning records. Gleb Kolyadin will be released on CD / LP and digitally and is now available to pre-order at this location.

“Gleb Kolyadin is a rare talent. A virtuoso classical pianist with tremendous compositional skills… believe you will find the listening experience quite breathtaking.” – Nick Beggs.

“Gleb Kolyadin” Tracklisting

  1. Insight [04:12]
  2. Astral Architecture (featuring Mick Moss) [06:30]
  3. White Dawn [02:33]
  4. Kaleidoscope[05:52]
  5. Eidolon [02:12]
  6. Into The Void [01:46]
  7. The Room [04:13]
  8. Confluence (featuring Steve Hogarth) [10:22]
  9. Constellation / The Bell[03:23]
  10. Echo / Sigh / Strand [02:29]
  11. Penrose Stairs[05:04]
  12. Storyteller (featuring Jordan Rudess) [03:20]
  13. The Best Of Days (featuring Steve Hogarth) [03:24]

Comments are closed.

error: This content is copyrighted!