HEATHEN Releases Second Single and Title Track From Upcoming Album “Empire of the Blind”

Google+ Pinterest LinkedIn Tumblr +

Bay Area thrash legends HEATHEN recently revealed their fourth studio album entitled “Empire of the Blind will be released on September 18th via Nuclear Blast Records. On August 7th, the band released the second single, title track “Empire Of The Blind“. 

HEATHEN comments, “We are very proud to announce the second single, title track from our new album “Empire of the Blind!” This song refers to the ongoing manipulation of people through political and social propaganda in the mass media. Behold the rising empire!”

Empire of the Blind was for the most part engineered, produced, mixed, and mastered by Christopher “Zeuss” Harris at Planet Z Studios. Additional details—rhythm guitars, etc.—were put to digital “tape” by Kragen Lum at SubLevel Studio in Little Rock, ARThe album features guest appearances by Gary Holt (EXODUS, SLAYER)Rick Hunolt (ex-EXODUS) and Doug Piercy (ex-HEATHEN)The cover art to “Empire Of The Blind was once again handled by renowned artist Travis Smith (OVERKILLEXHORDER).

Pre-order your copy of “Empire Of the Blind” in the format of your choice here.

“Empire Of the Blind” Album Artwork

“Empire Of the Blind” track listing:

 1. This Rotting Sphere
 2. The Blight
 3. Empire Of The Blind
 4. Dead And Gone
 5. Sun In My Hand
 6. Blood To Be Let
 7. In Black
 8. Shrine Of Apathy
 9. Devour
10. A Fine Red Mist
11. The Gods Divide
12. Monument To Ruin

HEATHEN in 2012 inked a deal with Nuclear Blast Records. “Empire Of The Blind” which will be their first album with the label, is the follow-up to “The Evolution Of Chaos”, which was released as a 10th-anniversary remastered reissue on January 31 via Mascot Records. The effort was made available on CD/DVD, 2LP and digitally with a previously unreleased bonus track, “Seasons Of Purgatory”. The CD/DVD was accompanied by a two-hour “making-of” documentary on the album as well as a live performance from 2009’s Thrash Domination in Japan.

When “The Evolution Of Chaos” was originally released back in January 2010, it was HEATHEN‘s first full-length collection of new material in 18 years and saw them ride a wave of the resurgent thrash scene. Since its 1984 inception, HEATHEN has gone through several lineup changes, leaving Altus as the only constant member. Altus has been a member of EXODUS since 2005. He joined the group as the replacement for Rick Hunolt, who left EXODUS to concentrate on his family life.


  • David White / Vocals
  • Lee Altus / Guitar
  • Kragen Lum / Guitar
  • Jason Mirza / Bass
  • Jim DeMaria / Drums


Comments are closed.