GUS G. Releases Music Video For ‘Not Forgotten’, From Latest Solo Album “Quantum Leap”

Pinterest LinkedIn Tumblr +

October last year saw Firewind mastermind and guitar icon, Gus G., release his critically acclaimed new solo affair “Quantum Leap” via AFM Records. Following an impressive music career of more than 20 years, nine record releases with Firewind, as well as recording and touring with acts such Mystic Prophecy, Nightrage, Arch Enemy, Dream Evil and Ozzy Osbourne, “Quantum Leap” is Gus G‘s fourth, and entirely instrumental solo album, featuring 10 tracks that both showcase the distinctive playing style Gus is known for yet taking fans into new territory.

Now Gus G. has released the official music video for “Not Forgotten”, a track from such album. The “Not Forgotten” clip arrives the day before the launch of Gus‘s “Electric Guitarlands” European tour, also featuring Michael Angelo Batio (MANOWAR),Rowan Robertson (DIO) and Andy Martongelli.

Says Gus: “Hey everyone! I’m really excited about the ‘Electric Guitarlands’ tour that kicks off tomorrow! Not only it’s my first solo tour in 4 years, but it’ll be my first time presenting material from my latest album ‘Quantum Leap’ on stage. The album came out during the pandemic and I haven’t had a chance to tour this, until now. Moreover, I get to share the stage with legendary guitarists Michael Angelo Batio and Rowan Roberson. Italian shredder Andy Martongelli rounds up the bill and this is going to be a guitar event you don’t wanna miss! We will all play individual sets with a full band plus you’ll get to see all of us jamming and improvising on stage together! Hope to see you out there at a show!”

“Quantum Leap” was assembled in pieces, featuring new compositions and material taken from Gus‘ “riff vault”, where he stores unfinished ideas and revisits them when he’s able. The album started as a full-on solo outing, with Gus programming drums and playing guitar, bass and keyboards, but a chance encounter with drummer Vincent Velasco – who volunteered his services and subsequently blew Gus away – opened up the production. Producer / engineer Dennis Ward, who was responsible for mixing and mastering “Quantum Leap” ended up laying down bass tracks on eight of the 10 tracks.

Unlike many instrumental albums, “Quantum Leap” doesn’t feel like a musical root canal or long and drawn- out brain surgery. Each of the 10 tracks are solid and compact musical ideas, with Gus‘ guitar acting as the voice. In this respect, writing “Quantum Leap” was a challenge because he is so used to writing in a specific formula utilizing vocals. He found himself falling into the loop of overplaying a few times during the production because of the lack of vocals, but was able to overcome the problem once he acknowledged it.

“Quantum Leap” Album Artwork

“I’m a guitar player and I cannot stand most instrumental guitar albums,” says Gus “The classic are the classics, but very rarely do I get into them because after the third track it just seems like an endless guitar solo where everything that sounds the same. That’s something I wanted to avoid on Quantum Leap and I think I succeeded in doing that.”

Order “Quantum Leap” here.

“Quantum Leap” track-listing:

 1. Into The Unknown
 2. Exosphere
 3. Quantum Leap
 4. Chronesthesia
 5. Enigma Of Life
 6. Judgement Day
 7. Fierce
 8. Demon Stomp
 9. Night Driver
10. Not Forgotten
11. Force Majeure (feat. Vinnie Moore)

In September 2019, Gus issued a digital-only solo EP, “Live In Budapest – Part 1”, consisting of four tracks recorded on the guitarist’s headline European tour in support of his latest album release, “Fearless” which was released in April 2018 via AFM Records. For the recording of the album he joined forces with Ward and drummer Will Hunt (EVANESCENCE). The world tour saw Gus and his band share stages around the world with legendary guitarists like Richie KotzenVinnie Moore followed by his own headline dates and a massive tour as special guest of Los Angeles rockers STEEL PANTHER.


Comments are closed.

error: This content is copyrighted!