GODSTICKS Premiere New Track & Video for “Victim” Taken from Their New Studio Album “Inescapable”

Pinterest LinkedIn Tumblr +

Having released their latest and most accomplished album to date “Inescapable” to media and fan acclaim in February, Godsticks proudly present their new single and video “Victim”. Watch it below.

Darran Charles explains the meaning behind the song “All of us seem to agree that this is our favorite song on the album. There is a definite progression from a light mood to a very dark and angsty vibe, which from a compositional standpoint was extremely challenging to achieve, but eventually very rewarding. To me the song is essentially about arguing with myself – looking inside and not liking some of the things I find. You can visualise the person you want to be but trying to change can also be a process just as hurtful as coming to terms with our flaws.”

Godsticks’ drummer Tom Price expands on the creative process for the video  “For Victim’s music video, we decided to focus on another big visually impactful performance, so we simply had to work with George Laycock from Black Tide Audio Visual again because he did such a great job with our ‘Denigrate’ video. With the help of lighting engineer Laure, we dreamt up a light show to emphasize those two different moods in the song that Darran was talking about – shifting from low-key in the first half into high impact arena-show lighting in the second. Everything came together once again and we could not be more happy with the finished product!” He continues “We hope the new video will at least provide a little distraction to anyone gracious enough to view it during these crazy times; all 4 of us are certainly very proud of it. We hope everyone out there is staying safe and well and trust me when I say that the band is itching to get back out on the road as soon as possible!”

“Inescapable” Album Artwork

With “Inescapable”the band have channeled their energy and technical ability into the melody, phrasing and vocal performance, allowing emotion to take center stage. Their mix of heavy rock, progressive and alternative metal with a dynamic range of angular riffs and emotional depth is leaving listeners reeling. On this release Godsticks found a definitive theme running through the songs, one of being more open and more personal; ultimately one that shines an inquisitive light on Charles’s struggle with inner demons which give the songs a new level of intimacy. “Inescapable” was produced by James Loughrey (Skindred) and recorded at the famed heritage Monnow Valley studio. 

“Inescapable” Track listing

  1. Denigrate
  2. Victim
  3. Relief
  4. Surrender
  5. Numb
  6. Change
  7. Breathe
  8. Time
  9. Resist

Read our review of “Inescapable” here and order the album on CD, LP & digitally at this location

Godsticks are:

Follow Godsticks online at: Website | Facebook | Instagram | Twitter | YouTube


Comments are closed.