EMPIRE STATE BASTARD – Featuring DAVE LOMBARDO – Stream New Single ‘Stutter’

Pinterest LinkedIn Tumblr +

EMPIRE STATE BASTARD, the extreme metal band founded by Simon Neil (BIFFY CLYRO) and Mike Vennart (BIFFY CLYRO live guitarist and solo artist, ex-OCEANSIZE), has shared a new song called “Stutter”. The track is taken from EMPIRE STATE BASTARD‘s debut album, “Rivers Of Heresy”, which will arrive on September 1 via Roadrunner. The LP will also feature EMPIRE STATE BASTARD‘s debut single “Harvest”, which was released this past March ahead of the band’s sold-out U.K. headline tour.

Furthermore, EMPIRE STATE BASTARD has announced that it will make its New York City live debut supporting CHAT PILE at Le Poisson Rouge on September 20.

EMPIRE STATE BASTARD also features the legendary Dave Lombardo (SLAYER, TESTAMENT, MR. BUNGLE) on drums, with Naomi Macleod (BITCH FALCON) rounding out the live lineup on bass.

As Mike candidly admits, “I set about making the most fucking poisonous vile music I possibly could, just unabridged hatred in musical form.”

Simon adds, “Lyrically, it’s as misanthropic and nihilistic as I’ve ever written.”

In addition to its digital release, “Rivers Of Heresy” will be made available on the following limited-edition physical formats: CD with an exclusive 24-page fanzine; poison green vinyl and red / black marble vinyl; and cassette. The deluxe vinyl bundle adds a seven-inch single featuring “Harvest” and a non-album B-side to either album vinyl.

Up next, EMPIRE STATE BASTARD will play select international festival dates this summer, including U.K. sets at Download, Glastonbury and ArcTanGent before heading to the States for an appearance at Riot Fest this September.

The concept for EMPIRE STATE BASTARD emerged when Neil and Vennart would spend downtime on tour sitting at the back of their bus sharing the heaviest, most avant-garde and confrontational music they could find. Now, a decade on from its conception, the project is finally coming to fruition, with Vennart writing the songs and recording all the guitars, and Neil focusing on vocals and lyrics.

The two have emerged with a collection of songs which adventurously probes slamming hardcore in the vein of SIEGE; the frenetic, visceral thrash of SLAYER; the claustrophobic sludge of MELVINS; the freeform vocal dexterity of Mike Patton; and the gargantuan stoner riffs of SLEEP. It’s a band that’s rooted in the tradition of metal’s forefathers but informed by more recent waves of leftfield aggression.

“Rivers Of Heresy” track listing:

 1. Harvest
 2. Blusher
 3. Moi?
 4. Tired, Aye?
 5. Sons And Daughters
 6. Stutter
 7. Palms Of Hands
 8. Dusty
 9. Sold!
10. The Looming


Comments are closed.

error: This content is copyrighted!