ASHES OF ARES Featuring Former ICED EARTH Members To Release “Emperors And Fools” Album In January

Pinterest LinkedIn Tumblr +

Legendary heavy metal duo Ashes of Ares have announced the release of their third studio album “Emperors and Fools”. The record will be released on January 21, 2022 as digipak CD, limited Turquoise/Black Splatter Vinyl (300 copies worldwide), limited Red/Black Splatter Vinyl (300 copies worldwide) and digital streaming and download format. 

Nine years after forming Ashes of Ares, Matt Barlow and Freddie Vidales return with their third full-length album “Emperors and Fools”. This album sees the duo take the darkness and aggression from their previous album “Well of Souls” to a higher echelon. The writing process began almost immediately after “Well of Souls” was released. As usual, it was a true collaborative effort between the two, with ideas originating from one or the other, then evolving and being refined to what is presented on “Emperors and Fools.” The album flow is designed to keep the listeners on edge while bringing them from fast, heavy, pounding anthems to somber, melancholic, emotional pieces. The album ends with the eleven-minute long epic “Monster’s Lament” which features the long-imagined joining of forces between Matt Barlow and Tim Ripper Owens.
The album was produced by Ashes of Ares, mixed and mastered by Byron Filson at Villain Recording, Phoenix, Arizona, with drums recorded by Ed Warrin of LCS Productions and artwork by Kamil Pietruczynik.
Pre-order the album here.

“Emperors and Fools” Track-listing:

1.    A City in Decay (Intro)
2.    I Am the Night
3.    Our Last Sunrise
4.    Primed
5.    Where God Fears to Go
6.    Emperors and Fools
7.    By My Blade
8.    What Tomorrow Will Bring
9.    The Iron Throne
10.  Gone
11.  Throne of Iniquity (CD Exclusive Track)
12.  Monster’s Lament

Ashes Of Ares:

  • Matt Barlow / Vocals
  • Freddie Vidales / Guitars, Bass

Guests Musicians:

  • Drums on all tracks by Van Williams
  • Keyboard intro composed by Jonah Weingarten
  • 1st solo “The Iron Throne” by Wiley Arnett of Sacred Reich
  • 2nd solo “The Iron Throne” by Charlie Mark
  • 2nd solo “Monster’s Lament” by Bill Hudson
  • Guest vocals “Monster’s Lament” by Tim Ripper Owens
  • Keyboards “Monster’s Lament” by Brian Trainor

Comments are closed.

error: This content is copyrighted!