ANNIHILATOR Drops Official Video for Rendition of VAN HALEN’s ‘Romeo Delight’ with DAVE LOMBARDO on Drums and STU BLOCK On Vocals

Pinterest LinkedIn Tumblr +

earMUSIC has revealed the new single from Annihilator‘s upcoming  “Metal II” album is “Romeo Delight,” which is a Van Halen cover. Watch the official video for the rendition of the iconic song below.

“Metal II” – a version of their 2007 album “Metal” which arrives on February 18th – kicks off this extensive catalogue campaign that will give you special editions, bonus material, exclusive and previously unreleased tunes. “Metal II” is dedicated to the memory of Eddie Van Halen and Alexi Laiho

“There was something about Women And Children First,” muses Annihilator‘s Jeff Waters“It was massively brutal attitude meeting aggression — meets a DLR-fronted party. You have to remember when this came out. ‘Romeo Delight’ is the most ‘heavy’ song from VH, in my (and Kerry King‘s!) opinion. The photos on the cover/back cover of WACF were impactful. It was a green cover and it was a photo of the band posing for a record cover shot and instead of blowing that photo up to the full size of the LP, they cropped it so it was a third the size of the record and everything around it was green. I would stare at the front and back pics for hours! Eddie was like a second father in a way. Millions [of others] probably feel that way too and only fans of his from back then could understand this.”

He continues, “His playing, writing, performance, and smile were second to none. EVER. He was a superb writer, lead guitar innovator, genius rhythm player, and was able to build a gear empire. He took chances. Did his own thing. It worked. Millions and more will mourn him, as long as the future world likes music. But we also will be celebrating forever, as musicians will continue to hand down the ‘EVH-Influenced-Musical-Genes’ to future generations!”

And “Metal II” is only the first taste, ahead of a huge catalogue campaign covering (almost) all ANNIHILATOR studio records and long-lost rarities. Fans have been waiting years and it’s finally happening: the much sought-after and previously unavailable ANNIHILATOR back-catalogue is getting a series of reissues via earMUSIC. In total, 18 records are going to be released over the next few years, including the original 2007 version of the “Metal” album.

 “Metal II” has been given an incredible overhaul with the one and only Dave Lombardo (Dead Cross, ex-Slayer) killing the drums and lead vocals “re-invented” by the great Stu Block (Into Eternity). Waters passed over mixing duties to legendary engineer Mike Fraser (AC/DC, Van Halen) and it was remastered by Maor Appelbaum. The guest list on the album is huge with more than a dozen killer artists from bands like Lamb Of God, Arch Enemy, Children Of Bodom, Nevermore, In Flames, Trivium, Danko Jones, Anvil, The Haunted and Lynam: One big metal party!

The pre-sale for “Metal II” is connected to a big competition where fans can win an originally signed ANNIHILATION II – Epiphone Flying V guitar additionally to a virtual meet & greet with Jeff Waters himself! To enter, simply join the ANNIHILATOR mailing list HERE. Among all those who signed up, a lucky winner will be picked randomly. CHeck out the details of the giveaway and more in the trailer below.

“Metal II” track-listing:

  1. Chasing The High (Featuring William Adler from Lamb Of God)
  2. Downright Dominate (Featuring Alexi Laiho from Children Of Bodom)
  3. Army Of One (Featuring Steve “Lips” Kudlow from Anvil)
  4. Couple Suicide (Featuring Danko Jones and Angela Gossow from Arch Enemy)
  5. Heavy Metal Maniac (Exciter Cover)
  6. Haunted (Featuring Jesper Strömblad from In Flames)
  7. Romeo Delight (Van Halen Cover)
  8. Detonation (Featuring Jacob Lynam from Lynam)
  9. Clown Parade (Featuring Jeff Loomis from Arch Enemy/Nevermore)
  10. Smothered (Featuring Anders Björler from At The Gates, The Haunted)
  11. Kicked (Featuring Corey Beaulieu from Trivium)


Comments are closed.

error: This content is copyrighted!