VIDEO PREMIERE: ADVENT HORIZON Share New Single “Water”, In Anticipation Of Upcoming Album “A Cell To Call Home”

Pinterest LinkedIn Tumblr +

Advent Horizon‘s third full length studio album “A Cell To Call Home” is due for release on October 6th, 2023. The 11-track modern progressive rock opus, carefully crafted over three years of work, explores the interplay between love, dependency, and loss – told in first person through the eyes of a protagonist who is battling through the struggles of overcoming addiction. This thematic album paints a story which is at times vivid, and at other times surreal. Above all, “A Cell To Call Home” urges the listener to examine their own weaknesses before criticizing those they love.

Water” the third single from the album is the leading track on the record, and serves as the introduction to the album’s main character as he attempts to find his way back from the “point of no return”. Sonically “Water” is one of Advent Horizon’s heaviest compositions to date. Fans of Haken, Dream Theater and Between The Buried and Me will all find common ground with this heavy progressive rock/metal single. “Water” is available now on all streaming platforms and you can watch the video, in a exclusive premiere, below.

This album was the result of three years of challenging work, but the attention to detail and control of the process made the efforts worth it. Synth/bass player Cason Wood states “On previous records we booked studio time and were limited to tracking parts within a given time frame. I’m really happy that we recorded it ourselves, as it allowed us to take the time to really get the parts right.”  The evocative album and single artwork was created by legendary and prolific artist Travis Smith, known for his artwork for Opeth, Devin Townsend, Avenged Sevenfold, Riverside, and countless other metal groups. Advent Horizon handled the production and mixing process themselves, then handed the project off to legendary metal producer Jens Bogren for mastering. Jens is known for his work with Opeth, Haken, Leprous, Between The Buried and Me, and many more. The final result is a recording that holds its own against any modern metal production. 

Sonically, “A Cell To Call Home” presents lush synth soundscapes, pensive piano interludes, heavy guitar driven instrumental passages, thundering drums, and complex pop-inspired vocal arrangements. The band feels they have developed substantially from previous releases, shooting for a sound they call “unabashedly progressive”. 

“A Cell To Call Home” also  features numerous guest spots from some of progressive music’s brightest stars, including Jordan Rudess (Dream Theater), Dave Meros (Spock’s Beard), Randy McStine (Porcupine Tree), and Jared Hill (Snow Child). Each solo artist was carefully selected, not just for their obvious technical ability but also their attention to the details and themes of the songs. The end result is breathtaking- you’ll have to hear for yourself. 

“A Cell To Call Home” Artwork

“A Cell To Call Home” Track-listing:

  1. Water (5:03)
  2. Snow Child (1:10)
  3. How Did It Get So Good? (7:14)
  4. Rain On Open Water (4:43)
  5. Your Flaws (3:49)
  6. Truth (5:54)
  7. Calling It Off (5:46)
  8. Control (5:34)
  9. Maybe (3:48)
  10. Cell To Call Home (10:15)
  11. Hold Me (6:19)

Advent Horizon is a project of pure creative passion. The brainchild of artist/producer Rylee McDonald and drummer Mike Lofgreen, Advent‘s goal is to bring a new, fresh sound to the progressive rock/metal world. Featuring Cason Wood on keys, Kris Hartman on bass and Grant Matheson on guitars/vocals, Advent Horizon seamlessly blends melodicism, complexity, and emotion. They have released two critically acclaimed progressive rock albums: 2011’s “Immured” and 2015’s “Stagehound”, as well as several EPs and singles.


Comments are closed.

error: This content is copyrighted!