Watch TEMIC Delivering the Prog-Metal Goods On Music Video For Epic Album Closer “Mothallah”

Pinterest LinkedIn Tumblr +

TEMIC — prog’s newest, most ambitious, and most adrenaline-fueled act — melds the creative minds of keyboardist and sound designer Diego Tejeida (Devin Townsend, Mike Portnoy’s Shattered Fortress, ex-Haken), guitarist Eric Gillette (The Neal Morse Band, Mike Portnoy’s Shattered Fortress), drummer Simen Sandnes (SHINING, Arkentype), and vocalist Fredrik Bergersen Klemp (Maraton, 22).

Today, TEMIC are releasing the album’s epic closer. Watch the video for “Mothallah”, a seven-minute epic that never stops reaching for the stars.

At just under eight minutes, the song has room for  twinkling keys, riffing synths, zero-gravity double bass kicks, two choirs and a classic arena rock solo that will have you down on both knees shredding your air guitar. “We will fight until the rays of light stand high”, sings Fredrik Bergersen with such booming, keening conviction, that even a nihilist would have no choice but to believe that this band is truly divine.  

Here’s what TEMIC have to say about their new single: “The lyrics in ‘Mothallah’ come from the personified perspective of our inner survival-seeking selves, encouraging us to reconcile and reconnect with our inner strength and self-confidence, especially when facing great challenges or fighting fears. The choir brings to life a sense of community and belonging, realizing that not only as individuals, but also as a species, do we all face challenges and ‘fight through the darkest night…’”

“For this self-produced video, we wanted to emphasize that the band members come from very different backgrounds, nationalities and ethnicities. Even when living thousands of kilometers away, it is music that bring us all together.”

“Terror Management Theory” is out November 17 on Season of Mist. Pre-order the album HERE.

Guitarist Eric Gillette first hit it off with Diego Tejeida (keyboards, sound design) while the two played together in the touring band for Mike Portnoy‘s Shattered Fortress. Simen Sandness drums for Shining and Arkentype, while Fredrik Bergersen Klemp still shows off his range as the singer for Maraton. When Gillette and Tejeida decided to start a band together while the world was shut down in 2020, their idea wasn’t necessarily simple: orchestrate their love for high-energy electronica and killer melodies into a modern prog-metal band. But on their first-ever single, TEMIC have no problem pulling off that whole concept. 

“Terror Management Theory” Track list:

1. TMT (2:02)
2. Through the Sands of Time (7:00)
3. Falling Away (4:58)
4. Count Your Losses (6:13)
5. Skeletons (7:00)
6. Acts of Violence (5:52)
7. Friendly Fire (5:57)
8. Paradigm (6:33)
9. Once More (5:45)
10. Mothallah (7:27)

Cover artwork: Hicham Hamzi

The origins of TEMIC date back to 2017, when Tejeida and Gillette toured the world as band members of Mike Portnoy’s Shattered Fortress. From the very first chords they exchanged, their musical chemistry both on and off stage was undeniable, leading them to discuss the prospect of starting a new band together. Unfortunately, conflicting tour and recording commitments forced them to turn their attention elsewhere for years—that is, until the world came to a standstill in 2020, and Tejeida called Gillette to ask a fateful question: “Remember how we said we should make music together? Well, how about now?”

Thus, the first demos for what would later become TEMIC’s 2023 debut album, “Terror Management Theory”, began to emerge. Within a few weeks after that initial phone call, the musical vision of TEMIC had become clear: Let’s create progressive music that is heavily influenced by high-energy electronic music, but arranged and orchestrated for a 5-piece modern prog rock/metal band—where, at last, the pulse can be the focus, and the vocal melody can be king.

Eager to join forces with the very best band-mates, Tejeida and Gillette first summoned the rhythmic power of their friend and drummer Sandnes. With characteristic enthusiasm, Sandnes seized the opportunity, prepared to contribute his percussive prowess as the heartbeat of TEMIC. When it came time to find the singer that would carry TEMIC’s melodies to new heights, Sandnes recommended vocal powerhouse Klemp, whose emotive delivery and unmatched intensity left no doubt that he was destined to be the voice of TEMIC. Finally, to round out the rhythm section of “Terror Management Theory”, dynamic bassist Jacob Umansky (Intervals) was invited on board as a guest player, gracing the album with an unrivaled groove and a signature low-end sound.

Together, this mammoth lineup is TEMIC, a high-energy, electronic-inspired, modern melodic prog metal band for the next generation.

  • Fredrik Bergersen / Vocals
  • Eric Gillette /  Guitars and Backing Vocals
  • Simen Sandnes / Drums and Percussion
  • Diego Tejeida / Keyboards and Sound Design

Comments are closed.

error: This content is copyrighted!