SUBTERRANEAN MASQUERADE Shares Live Performances From Progspace And Counter Corona Festivals

Pinterest LinkedIn Tumblr +

Sensory Records is preparing for their mid-May worldwide release of “Mountain Fever,” the dynamic fourth LP from Israeli progressive metal outfit, SUBTERRANEAN MASQUERADE. With the new record less than three weeks from its official street date, new footage from the band’s recent festival performances has been made publicly available.

“Mountain Fever” was recorded in Golan Heights, Israel with engineer David Castillo, after which it was sent to Fascination Street in Örebro, Sweden (Leprous, Katatonia, Opeth) where it was mixed by Jens Bogren and mastered by Tony Lindgren, then completed with artwork and layout by Costin Chioreanu of Twilight 13 Media. The record features several notable guest contributions, including drums from Matan Shmuely (Orphaned Land), bouzouki and lead guitars on “Mångata” by Idan Amsalem (Orphaned Land), and vocals on “Somewhere I Sadly Belong” by Melechesh Ashmedi (Melechesh) and Jackie Hole (The Super Things).

In December, SUBTERRANEAN MASQUERADE appeared as one of the headlining acts for Progspace’s international holiday virtual festival event, where they performed a twenty-minute set including the first live performance of the lead single from “Mountain Fever,” “Ascend.” Earlier this month, the band took part in the Japanese virtual Counter Corona Festival, where they performed the track “Nomad.”

Led by guitarist Tomer Pink, SUBTERRANEAN MASQUERADE was previously fronted by Green Carnation vocalist Kjetle Nordhus and Novembers Doom‘s Paul Khur. Having officially revamped the lineup in 2018, the band now features a very tight knit, fully group of musicians handpicked from the upper echelons of Israel’s prog scene. “Mountain Fever” is the band’s first album to be created by this expansive seven-member lineup.

Boasting ten new songs which encompass nearly fifty-five minutes of material, Mountain Fever sees SUBTERRANEAN MASQUERADE continuing to push the balance between pioneering experimentalism to their own take on modern pop culture and its manifestation in the Middle East. Revealing an album composed of African and Balkan brass sections, Arabic violins, extended vocal techniques, and several special guest appearances, the band explores radio friendly hooks that emerge out of heavy riffs and polychromatic arrangements.

“Mountain Fever” Album Artwork

Lasers Edge division Sensory Records will release “Mountain Fever” worldwide on May 14th across all digital platforms, on CD, and pressed on vinyl as a double LP cut at 45RPM. Find preorders for the CD, the Black vinyl, and the Yellow vinyl here. 

“Mountain Fever” Track Listing:

1. Snake Charmer
2. Diaspora, My Love
3. Mountain Fever
4. Inwards
5. Somewhere I Sadly Belong
6. The Stillnox Oratory
7. Ascend
8. Ya Shema Evyonecha
9. For The Leader, With Strings Music
10. Mångata


  • Davidavi (Vidi) Dolev / Vocals
  • Tomer Pink / Guitars
  • Shai Yallin / Keys
  • Golan Farhi / Bass
  • Or Shalev / Guitars
  • Omer Fishbein / Guitars
  • Jonathan Amar / Drums

Comments are closed.

error: This content is copyrighted!