PERSEFONE Announce New EP “Lingua Ignota: Part I”

Pinterest LinkedIn Tumblr +

Andorran extreme prog metal unit Persefone unveils their upcoming EP, “Lingua Ignota: Part I”, set for release on February 2, 2024 via Napalm Records.

Persefone has shared a first glimpse of the band’s newest opus, the incredible new single, ‘One Word’. The track kicks off a new era for the band, as the upcoming EP is the first release with the new vocalist, Daniel Rodríguez Flys, who has already joined the band on several tours in the past. The track is accompanied by a stunning new music video, forming the band’s rich soundscapes into a visual highlight.

Carlos Lozano, guitarist, comments: “’One Word’ embodies all that “Lingua Ignota” is meant to be, both musically and lyrically. With a much more organic and band oriented approach on the writing for this new release, ’One Word’ was the first step towards the sound we were trying to define with the new music. A sound where every instrument, word, note and hit, had its place – avoiding meaningless passages or transitions. Every sound working to help the next one, and all of them being held together by something bigger.”

Technical proficiency and modern progressive metal elements drenched in melodic death metal influences are at the core of Persefone’s sound, and the outfit’s new vocalist brings a fresh edge to his first record with the band. As successor to the stunning 2022 release, “metanoia”, Persefone expand on “Lingua Ignota: Part I”, their collaboration with the renowned David Castillo, who produced, recorded and mixed the new album at Studio Gröndahl in Stockholm, Sweden. Castillo is well-known for his phenomenal work with genre giants such as Opeth, Dark Tranquillity and Leprous, as well as label mates Katatonia and Candlemass.

Creeping in with a hauntingly beautiful intro, keyboards and electronic influences build up the atmosphere on the opening track ‘Sounds And Vessels’ before screams lead into a brutal breakdown. Following the shockingly abrupt ending, the breathtaking second track ‘One Word’ kicks right off with pounding drums, screams and growls before introducing a catchy, melodic chorus. Church bells ring for ‘The Equable’, and the listener is carried away by irresistible heavy riffs leading to a massive chorus. Starting with surprisingly delicate guitar melodies and chanting vocals, the beautiful title track ‘Lingua Ignota’ impresses with skilled instrumentation and exceptionally rich soundscapes. Cinematic closing track ‘Abyssal Communication’ wraps up “Lingua Ignota: Part I”.

Persefone’s new offering convinces with top-tier songwriting that keeps the listener captivated through the album, showcasing impressive variety in soundscapes, and once again proves that this band can’t be pigeonholed. “Lingua Ignota: Part I” can be pre-order HERE. It will be available in the following formats:

  • Vinyl Marbled
  • CD
  • Digital Album

“Lingua Ignota: Part I” Track List:

  1. Sounds And Vessels
  2. One Word
  3. The Equable
  4. Lingua Ignota
  5. Abyssal Communication


Carlos Lozano Quintanilla / Guitar
Miguel “Moe” Espinosa / Keyboards and vocals
Sergi “Bobby” Verdeguer / Drums
Daniel Rodríguez Flys / Vocals
Filipe Baldaia Ribeiro / Guitar
Toni Mestre Coy / Bass


Comments are closed.

error: This content is copyrighted!