Legendary KING’S X Frontman DOUG ‘DUG’ PINNICK Releases First Single “Key Changer” From Upcoming Solo Album Joy Bomb

Pinterest LinkedIn Tumblr +

On the heels of the announcement of his fifth solo album “Joy Bomb,” legendary bassist and King’s X frontman Doug “dUg” Pinnick has released the album’s first single “Key Changer”. The track opens with a driving guitar and bass sequence from dUg with riffage that would make the likes of Tom Morello proud. As the band kicks in and the song starts to take flight, dUg’s gruff and soulful vocals take center stage, reveling in the power of music and the joy it brings to folks no matter the circumstance. In the accompanying video, dUg rocks out on both bass and guitar, dances with robots, and cheers on street performers in a lighthearted visual that will be sure to invoke a smile. Sometimes, you just need to “turn up your stereo” and “let the music hit the spot.” Check out the video below.

“The idea of this video was just to have fun and be goofy,” dUg says. “Hopefully it will brighten everyone’s day.”

‘Joy Bomb’ is a collection of tunes I’ve been writing for the last two years,” Doug says. “The pandemic has made me go deeper into myself and how to deal with everything and everyone in a new way. These songs are all about truth the way I see it, and I’m thankful that at 71 I can still make music that hopefully matters. ‘Joy Bomb’ is my latest offer.”

From the charging rhythms of album opener “Jon Boy” all the way through the barnstorming closing track “Making Sense Of The Bones”, Doug proves that age is nothing to him and provides an album packed with the groove, swagger, and soul that he has honed and perfected over his extensive career. Doug‘s ability to combine a multitude of his influences into one seamless offering is on full display, tapping into everyone from RAGE AGAINST THE MACHINE to Sly Stone to BLACK SABBATH. “A Long Way From Home”, “Like A Wolf” and “The Poison” show why Doug is still one of the best in metal and rock, while “I Can’t Fight This Feeling”, “Social Distancing” and “Long Live Love” exemplify his ability to think outside the box and expand his range.

“Joy Bomb” is now available for pre-order via Rat Pak Records HERE.

“Joy Bomb” track listing

  1. Jon Boy
  2. A Long Way From Home
  3. Key Changer
  4. Equally Divided
  5. I Can’t Fight This Feeling
  6. Like A Wolf
  7. Social Distancing
  8. Love And Fear
  9. Long Live Love
  10. Slaves
  11. The Poison
  12. Making Sense Of The Bones
  13. Like A Wolf (Reprise)

Pinnick is known first and foremost as the soulful singer and bassist for hard rockers KING’S X. Throughout the band’s lengthy and legendary career, KING’S X released twelve albums and influenced the likes of PEARL JAM, SOUNDGARDEN, DREAM THEATER, PANTERA, and many more. Throughout the early 21st century, Pinnick remained the “go-to singer” of rock — as evidenced by his appearance on recordings by first-rate rockers including Jeff Ament, Eric Gales, George Lynch, Ray Luzier, and many more. Doug has issued other solo albums under his own name, including 2005’s “Emotional Animal”, 2006’s “Songs From The Closet”, 2007’s “Strum Sum Up”, and 2013’s “Naked”.


Comments are closed.

error: This content is copyrighted!