JOURNEY Celebrates U.S. Independence Day With New Single ‘United We Stand’

Pinterest LinkedIn Tumblr +

Legendary rockers JOURNEY have released a visualizer video for “United We Stand”. The song is taken from the band’s upcoming album, “Freedom”, which will arrive on July 8 via BMG except in Europe and Japan, where it will be issued via Frontiers Music Srl.

JOURNEY said in a statement: “More than ever, we need to take care of each other and look after one another. ‘United We Stand’ is a reminder that together we can make a difference. ‘United We Stand’ is out now.”

Pre-order HERE.

Emerging from the pandemic with a supercharged new studio lineup, “Don’t Give Up On Us” will be followed by an epic 15-track set of new original songs that brings back the grand scale of the group’s greatest moments, along with updated and bold new directions and sounds.

JOURNEY founding member, guitarist, songwriter and producer Neal Schon stated about the track: “It is a very melodic song. It’s soulful, coming more from that R&B place and a little more Motown sounding but it definitely rocks. I feel like it’s got JOURNEY all over it.”

While the forthcoming album was made with visions of arena and stadium stages, it started from humble beginnings. In 2020, as COVID-19 swept the globe, Schon was stuck at home like the rest of us. “During the pandemic, there wasn’t much to do,” he says. “I spent a lot of time in my little studio at home, learning how to play keyboards and looping. Some of those ideas ended up being songs. So, it kind of came out of nowhere.”

As the band’s legend continues to grow larger and their touring gets bigger, “Freedom” will be the first album of new material to be released in eleven years, since 2011’s “Eclipse,” and in addition to longtime keyboard player and primary lyricist Jonathan Cain and vocalist Arnel Pineda, one more member was recruited for the upcoming album – bassist extraordinaire Randy Jackson, who had played on Journey’s 1986 album “Raised on Radio.”

“Freedom” track-listing:

  1. Together We Run
  2. Don’t Give Up On Us
  3. Still Believe In Love
  4. You Got The Best Of Me
  5. Live To Love Again
  6. The Way We Used To Be
  7. Come Away With Me
  8. After Glow
  9. Let It Rain
  10. Holdin On
  11. All Day and All Night
  12. Don’t Go
  13. United We Stand
  14. Life Rolls On
  15. Beautiful As You Are

 *“Freedom” will be released by Frontiers Records in Europe and Japan. BMG will release the album for the rest of the world.


Comments are closed.

error: This content is copyrighted!