ICE NINE KILLS Drop “Funeral Derangements” Music Video Inspired By STEPHEN KING Horror Classic ‘Pet Sematary’

Pinterest LinkedIn Tumblr +

Slashercore outfit ICE NINE KILLS has dropped the fourth and final new track from its upcoming album “The Silver Scream 2: Welcome To Horrorwood” prior to its release this coming Friday, October 15 via Fearless Records. Today’s offering submitted into evidence is titled “Funeral Derangements” and is inspired by the Stephen King horror classic “Pet Sematary”. The accompanying music video features horror icon Bill Moseley (“The Devil’s Rejects”, “House Of 1000 Corpses”), a show-stopping cameo from Miko Hughes, the actor from the original 1989 “Pet Sematary”, a cameo from Josh Katz from BADFLOWER portraying the undead Victor Pascow and James A. Janisse and Chelsea Rebecca, creators of the wildly popular Dead Meat “Kill Count” YouTube series. Stream the track here and watch the official music video below.

ICE NINE KILLS front-man and driving creative force Spencer Charnas states: “In perhaps the most ironic cameo in recent horror memory, we’ve tapped the amazing Miko Hughes (Gage from the original ‘Pet Sematary’) to play the role of the reckless truck driver. An 18-wheeler, a twisted cat, a scalpel and an evil burial ground all come together in what I’d call our most ambitious homage yet. Dig in…”

“Funeral Derangements” follows the release of previous singles “Rainy Day”, “Assault & Batteries” and “Hip To Be Scared”, the latter of which paid homage to the Bret Easton Ellis classic “American Psycho”. The three tracks combined have already clocked up 15.7 million streams with 3.6 million YouTube views.

No matter how many advances there are in cinematography, practical effects or CGI, there’s a single scene in the 1989 adaptation of Stephen King‘s “Pet Sematary” almost unrivaled in its shockingness, and things only unravel for the characters from there. The story involves a burial ground capable of reanimating the dead, though the versions of pets (like Church, the movie’s family cat) and people that return are devastatingly malevolent. John Feldmann co-wrote the track, lending a BAD RELIGION-style anthemic vibe. Bassist Joe Occhiuti spent time on the tour bus working on discordant noises to match some of the movie’s frightening animalism. It also contains some of the best lyrics of Charnas‘s career, including “It all began with a skid on the pavement / it ends now with Funeral Derangements / the flesh is living, but the souls have spoiled / the wrath of God lays beneath the soil.”

A sequel of franchise proportions to the No. 1 Billboard Hard Rock album “The Silver Scream”, “The Silver Scream 2: Welcome To Horrorwood” doubles down in pursuit of the anthemic band’s cinematic muse.

“The Silver Scream 2: Welcome To Horrorwood” Album Artwork

Decadent, devious, and fiercely insane, with sardonic wit to spare, ICE NINE KILLS celebrates pop culture’s darkest edges, mining a cinephile library’s worth of b-movie schlock and iconic horror on “Welcome To Horrorwood: The Silver Scream 2” and its prequel, “The Silver Scream”.

“The Silver Scream 2: Welcome To Horrorwood” track listing:

 1. Opening Night…
 2. Welcome To Horrorwood
 3. A Rash Decision
 4. Assault & Batteries
 5. The Shower Scene
 6. Funeral Derangements
 7. Rainy Day
 8. Hip To Be Scared (Featuring Jacoby Shaddix of PAPA ROACH)
 9. Take Your Pick (Featuring Corpsegrinder)
10. The Box (Featuring Brandon Saller of ATREYU and Ryan Kirby of FIT FOR A KING)
11. F.L.Y. (Featuring Buddy Nielsen of SENSES FAIL)
12. Wurst Vacation
13. Ex-Mørtis
14. Farewell II Flesh

“Welcome To Horrorwood” carves out a fresh, bloody homage to the VHS celluloid classics that possessed Charnas at an early age, with a devilish new twist. Drew Fulk (MOTIONLESS IN WHITE, DANCE GAVIN DANCE, POP EVIL) produced “The Silver Scream” and returned for “Welcome To Horrorwood”. Album guests include Jacoby Shaddix (PAPA ROACH), George “Corpsegrinder” Fisher (CANNIBAL CORPSE), Brandon Saller (ATREYU), Ryan Kirby (FIT FOR A KING) and Buddy Nielsen (SENSES FAIL). The album mixes the melodies, riffs, and wit that are the band’s signature, as heard in the Top 10 Mainstream Rock single “A Grave Mistake” and Top 20 hit “Savages”.


Comments are closed.

error: This content is copyrighted!