Progressive Rock/Metal Quartet ICE AGE Reveals Visualizer Video for “Together Now” Single

Pinterest LinkedIn Tumblr +

New York City-based progressive rock/metal quartet ICE AGE prepares to release their third album, and first in twenty-two years, with the epic “Waves Of Loss And Power,” set for a March 10th street date through Sensory Records. Today, the band offers another preview of the record, today issuing a visualizer for the song “Together Now.” Watch it below.

ICE AGE’s “Waves Of Loss And Power” boasts a unit firing on all cylinders that cannot be ignored. The album showcases vocalist/keyboardist Josh Pincus, guitarist Jimmy Pappas, drummer Hal Aponte, and bassist Doug Odell wearing their varied influences confidently on their collective sleeve. The band conjures the spirits of Kansas and Genesis (“Riverflow”), fleeting shades of Queensrÿche, Rush, and Fates Warning (“The Needle’s Eye,” “Together Now”), and flexes their “hit song” muscle with the infectious hooks of “All My Years” and “Float Away.” In true prog tradition, ICE AGE continues the epic sagas begun on the first two albums with abiding narrative nods to the musical motifs and thematic tapestries of “Perpetual Child” (from “The Great Divide”) and “To Say Goodbye” (last visited on “Liberation”). In all respects, “Waves Of Loss And Power” is a seminal masterwork of catchy, thoughtful, and bonafide progressive songwriting.

“Waves Of Loss And Power” will be released on CD and digitally through Laser’s Edge division Sensory Records. Find pre-orders for the CD at the label web-shop HERE and the digital at Bandcamp – the standard version HERE and the 24-bit hi-res version HERE.

Lyrically, Pincus tackles existential conflict and piercing social commentary with equal skill. His compendium of keyboard sounds, textures, and flowing leads are always the perfect elements to make every moment quintessential ICE AGE. As a singer, Pincus sounds as powerful and soulful as ever, arguably even better than fans of the first two albums will recall. With his intricate, original guitar work, Pappas delivers detailed, muscular-metal riffing, and his solos are ‘songs’ unto themselves, rife with melodic phrasing and just the right amount of inspired shred. Aponte’s ability to combine killer chops, musicality, and groove is as vital, spirited, and unique as ever.

Says standout bassist Doug Odell, “Being in a room with these guys writing new songs is nothing short of awe-inducing. They do one thing brilliantly above all else – sounding completely and authentically like nobody but themselves.”

Engineering for Waves Of Loss And Power was principally handled by the band’s in-house sonic wizard Jimmy Pappas, with mixing and mastering exquisitely dialed-in by auditory guru Rich Mouser (Spock’s Beard, Transatlantic, Dream Theater). The cover art concept and booklet design were brought to life by Bjorn GooBes of Killustrations, with a fresh new band logo by Thomas Ewerhard.

“Waves of Loss and Power” Album Artwork

With this new opus, ICE AGE returns with the most anticipated comeback in the genre. Pincus states, “With age and experience come additional wisdom and maturity (hopefully)…we’ve always been about writing memorable songs and presenting challenging ideas within the progressive rock genre; with “Waves Of Loss And Power, we’ve really achieved that goal. We’re extremely proud of it.”

“Waves Of Loss And Power Track Listing:

1. The Needle’s Eye
2. Riverflow
3. Perpetual Child, Part II: Forever
4. Together Now
5. All My Years
6. Float Away
7. To Say Goodbye, Part IV: Remembrance
8. To Say Goodbye, Part V: Water Child

ICE AGE will also return to the stage this year in support of the new album. The band has already been confirmed to perform at the 2023 edition of ProgPower USA. The massive festival runs from September 6th through 9th and will see the band sharing the stage with the likes of Kamelot, Caligula’s Horse, Myrath, Delain, Green Carnation, Doro, Cynic, Swallow The Sun, and many more. Watch for additional regional dates to post surrounding the release of “Waves Of Loss And Power.”


Comments are closed.

error: This content is copyrighted!