Global Metal Stars ALIEN WEAPONRY to Release New Album “Tangaroa” on September 17, 2021 via NAPALM RECORDS

Pinterest LinkedIn Tumblr +

The wait is over – international metal stars ALIEN WEAPONRY have returned with a vengeance, announcing the release of their fervid upcoming sophomore release, “Tangaroa,”  out September 17, 2021 via Napalm Records.

Since releasing their acclaimed debut “Tū” (2018), the New Zealanders’ kinetic presence and sound – combining elements of thrash and groove metal with lyrics in the native indigenous language, te reo Māori — has attracted throngs of fans and media supporters across the globe. As with their 2018 single “Kai Tangata” – which has amassed more than 10 million views on YouTube and claimed the number-one spot on SiriusXM Liquid Metal’s “Devil’s Dozen” for 13 consecutive weeks – much of “Tangaroa” is immersed in the historical stories and cultural heritage of the Māori people. 

In addition, “Tangaroa”  details stories of personal struggle and growth, as well as crucial environmentalism topics. Witness a first sample of the band’s stirring new music with the album’s colossal title track, “Tangaroa”. Accompanied by a gripping music video, the track details the pressing theme of climate change and illegal fishing practices. Through raising this awareness, ALIEN WEAPONRY hope to support the important work and efforts of the Sea Shepherd Conservation Society.

Lead vocalist and guitarist Lewis de Jong says about the track: “We decided to write this song about how the ocean is being suffocated by humans and their waste. The ocean is an important part of my life, and it’s important to protect it.”

Drummer Henry de Jong adds: “‘Tangaroa’ is a heavy and angry message about how we are destroying the ocean with pollution and overfishing. The video ties in with this message, with us drowning in plastic conveying the struggle of ocean life.”

Watch the brand new official music video for “Tangaroa” below.

Having achieved past and present tours and festivals with the likes of SlayerBlack Label Society and Gojira, and being hailed the “future of metal” by esteemed magazine Metal Hammer (UK) and voted by Revolver Magazine (US) fans as “one of the bands most likely to break out in 2021”ALIEN WEAPONRY are poised to dominate with “Tangaroa”. The album coalesces ALIEN WEAPONRY’s growing maturation with an undisturbed songwriting process, resulting in their most inspired, honest and informed material yet.

In addition to lyrics written in te reo Māori, many tracks feature traditional instruments, called taonga puoro, providing the tracks their own warrior-like attitude. Rhythmic, dynamic album opener “Titokowaru” begins with determined rowing chants and depicts the tale of a famous war chief that challenged the colonial government in New Zealand and led a rebel army, backed by quick riffage and driving drums. Following standout “Hatupatu”, inspired by the harrowing, legendary tale of a de Jong ancestor facing off with a witch, is carried by frenzied guitars, spirited chanting and tribal-like percussion. While ALIEN WEAPONRY sourced inspiration from their culture and environmental surroundings while writing most of “Tangaroa”, the band also looked inward – drawing vision for other portions of the album from within. The album dives into some of their most effecting personal experiences, with English-language songs like the pensive “Unforgiving” about facing self-loathing and insecurity, and the swirling, charging “Buried Underground” detailing the aftershocks of drug abuse.

“Tangaroa” Album Artwork

“Tangaroa” tracklisting:

1. Titokowaru
2. Hatupatu
3. Ahi KāT
4. Tangaroa
5. Unforgiving
6. Blinded
7. Kai Whatu
8. Crooked Monsters
9. Buried Underground
10. Dad
11. Īhenga
12. Down The Rabbit Hole

“Tangaroa” will be available in North America in the following formats:

  • 4 page CD Digipack
  • 4 page CD Digipack + Patch
  • 2LP Gatefold Black
  • 2LP Gatefold Turquoise 
  • 2LP Gatefold Marble Light Blue/Cream (Napalm Mailorder only – limited to 500)
  • 2LP Gatefold Marble Orange/Transparent Black (Napalm Mailorder only – limited to 500)
  • Wooden Box Edition: CD Digipack, pendant, patch, cover flag, canvas tote bag (Napalm Mailorder only – limited to 500)
  • Die-Hard Edition: 2LP Gatefold Marble Crystal Clear/Curacao, hand numbered with guitar pic set and back patch (Napalm Mailorder only – limited to 400)
  • Digital Album 

Accented by personal touches like its entrancing album art originally conceptualized from drawings by Lewis de Jong, “Tangaroa” is a massive next step for a band on the rise, encompassing all of the elements that make ALIEN WEAPONRY heavy metal’s most authentic rising stars.

Henry de Jong says about “Tangaroa”: “The album is tied together with the message of ‘Tangaroa’ – the whole album is more a snapshot of the band’s brains during the writing process. We have also written songs that are about some of our first tūpuna (ancestors) who were here in Āotearoa (New Zealand). Hatupatu, who is very famous in Māori history, as well as Īhenga, who named a number of places in Āotearoa during his travels.”

Lewis de Jong adds about the album’s artwork and thematic details: “The album is named after the track ‘Tangaroa’, and we went with this theme on the artwork. The album is drawn from some new experiences we’ve had as well as some ancient Māori tales. I think we have stepped things up from the last album.”

Bassist Tūranga Morgan-Edmonds also adds: “This album’s use of even more traditional Māori sounds and styles is a very exciting step forward for us.” 

Pre-Order “Tangaroa” NOW

Following up to their groundbreaking recent sold out performance with the New Zealand Symphony Orchestra in Kirikiriroa Hamilton at the Claudelands Arena last month, ALIEN WEAPONRY will support headliners GOJIRA on their fall 2021 U.S. tour. Featuring additional support from Knocked Loose, the tour will begin on October 11 in Salt Lake City, Utah at The Union and come to a close at Cleveland, Ohio’s The Agora on October 29. The tour will be preceded by a performance at Aftershock Festival on October 9. For individual show information, visit

ALIEN WEAPONRY tour dates with headliners Gojira & special guests Knocked Loose:

October 9 – Sacramento, CA @ Aftershock (festival)
October 11 – Salt Lake City, UT @ The Union
October 13 – Kansas City, MO @ Arvest Bank Theatre at The Midland
October 14 – Wichita, KS @ The Cotillion
October 15 – Oklahoma City, OK @ Diamond Ballroom
October 17 – New Orleans, LA @ Civic Theatre
October 19 – Tampa, FL @ Jannus Live
October 20 – Orlando, FL @ Hard Rock Live
October 22 – Nashville, TN @ Marathon Music Works
October 23 – Asheville, NC @ Thomas Wolfe Auditorium
October 25 – Albany, NY @ Upstate Concert Hall
October 27 – Portland, ME @ State Theatre
October 28 – Rochester, NY @ Main Street Armory
October 29 – Cleveland, OH @ The Agora

ALIEN WEAPONRY on “Tangaroa” is:

  • Henry Te Reiwhati de Jong / Drums, Backing vocals
  • Lewis Raharuhi de Jong / Guitars, Lead vocals
  • Ethan Trembath / Bass guitars, backing vocals & lead vocals on “Dad”
  • Tūranga Porowini Morgan-Edmonds / Backing vocals & guitar on “Unforgiving”

Comments are closed.

error: This content is copyrighted!