FEUERSCHWANZ Announce “Fegefeuer” Album; Watch Video For “Bastard von Asgard” Featuring ELUVEITIE’s FABIENNE ERNI

Pinterest LinkedIn Tumblr +

Germany’s Feuerschwanz will release their new studio album, “Fegefeuer”, on July 7 via Napalm Records. The successor to 2021’s “Memento Mori” (#1 Official German Album Charts) is fully dedicated to metal and thus consistently continues the band’s path away from their comedic rock roots of days gone by.

Today, the band has already released the album’s first single, “Bastard von Asgard”, featuring Eluveitie singer Fabienne Erni (in German), alongside an official music video – a straight heavy metal track in Feuerschwanz style. In the official music video, Fabienne embodies the Bastard of Asgard as a shapeshifter who transforms into a real wolf to attack Hauptmann Feuerschwanz. The video ends in an epic battle between Hodi and the Bastard.

Feuerschwanz says about “Bastard von Asgard”: “With this song we pay our rightful tribute to the old gods. It is set in the saga world of the Vikings and deals with end of the world of betrayal and deceit. Odin’s son meets Loki’s bastard – with vocal support from Fabienne Erni, singer of the folk-metal pioneers Eluveitie. To do justice to the epic saga, we have turned the speed up to full blast and march toward the end of the world. Ragnarök can come.”

Watch the video below and get your copy of “Fegefeuer” HERE.

Formed in 2004, the band has gradually shifted from their roots in comedic medieval folk into a much more serious direction. With the switch to Napalm Records ahead of the release of “Das Elfte Gebot” (2020), Feuerschwanz set their sights entirely on metal – soon becoming one of the most relevant German bands in the genre today. The band’s enormously successful previous album of original music, “Memento Mori” (2021), even stormed the official German charts, peaking at #1. On “Fegefeuer”, Feuerschwanz spice up their medieval inspired folk metal with true heavy metal influences.

“Fegefeuer” kicks off with outstanding opening track “SGFRD Dragonslayer”. Lyrical references to the legendary Siegfried Dragonslayer combine with heavy riffing and Nordic mythology. Successor “Bastard von Asgard” features beautiful vocals by Eluveitie’s Fabienne Erni. The catchy viking party anthem “Berzerkermode” calls for the listener to join the celebration and “party like a viking”, while the first three tracks, as well as heavy “Highlander”, are best proof of the band’s evolution from comedy rock to metal. Other tracks like the intense title track “Fegefeuer”, Lord of the Rings battlechant “Uruk-Hai” and “Die Horde” will be long-time fan favorites.

“Fegefeuer” stays lyrically true to trademark topics, exploring long forgotten legends and heroic battles, and shows off the band’s extraordinary musical skills. The album will be available in various formats, with some containing the live bonus album “Live in Wacken 2022″, which includes a recording of their co-headline show from the holy fields. With their new release, Feuerschwanz clearly confirm their outstanding position at the top of the German metal scene.

Fegefeuer “Album-Artwork”

“Fegefeuer” Track List:

1. SGFRD Dragonslayer
2. Bastard von Asgard
3. Berzerkermode
4. Knochenkarussell
5. Fegefeuer
6. Die Horde
7. Uruk-Hai
8. Highlander
9. Morrigan
10. Eis & Feuer
11. Valkyren

Various limited versions come with the bonus CD, “Live in Wacken 2022”, recorded during the band’s co-headline set at Wacken Open Air 2022. Other versions include the instrumental version of all 11 album tracks:

“Live in Wacken 2022” Track List:

1. Intro (Das Elfte Gebot) (Live in Wacken 2022)
2. Memento Mori (Live in Wacken 2022)
3. Untot im Drachenboot (Live in Wacken 2022)
4. Metfest (Live in Wacken 2022)
5. Ultima Nocte (Live in Wacken 2022)
6. Schubsetanz (Live in Wacken 2022)
7. Methämmer (Live in Wacken 2022)
8. Dragostea Din Tei (Live in Wacken 2022)
9. Rohirrim (Live in Wacken 2022)
10. Das Elfte Gebot (Live in Wacken 2022)
11. Warriors Of The World United (Live in Wacken 2022 / feat. Melissa Bonny)
12. Die Hörner Hoch (Live in Wacken 2022)
13. Extro (Live in Wacken 2022)


Comments are closed.

error: This content is copyrighted!