FALLUJAH Unleash Final Single “Soulbreaker” Ahead Of Sept Record Release

Pinterest LinkedIn Tumblr +

With barely a month remaining before the release of their their highly anticipated 5th studio album, “Empyrean,” Bay Area masters of atmospheric technical death metal FALLUJAH have unleashed their final single, a torrential masterpiece titled “Soulbreaker.” A masterclass of guitar wizardry and a devastating gut punch of pummeling rhythm, the ripping new track takes fans into the pit with a decimating level of sonic ferocity. Stream it below.

Commenting on the song, founding guitarist Scott Carstairs says: “Prepare to have your mind melted by our latest track ‘SOULBREAKER.’ This will be our third and final single from our monstrous record ‘Empyrean’ out on 9/9. ‘Soulbreaker’ is a psychedelic spiral into depravity, relentlessly beating you down with pissed off riffs and ethereal walls of sonic bliss. Try not to break your neck listening to this one.”

FALLUJAH emerges, post-pandemic, revitalized as they explore new sonic realms and revisit elements of style executed on early records. With an overhauled lineup that includes primary songwriter/guitarist Scott Carstairs and compeer/drummer Andrew Baird and newly added vocalist Kyle Schaefer (Archaeologist) and bassist Evan Brewer (formerly Entheos/The Faceless), FALLUJAH are at a creative peak that’s nearly unmatched in modern death metal. 

Commenting on “Empyrean,” Carstairs says: “After such an experimental expression [with ‘Undying Light‘], we sat down to write “Empyrean” completely refreshed and inspired, It was like the musical tension of the last decade had been released, and we were ready to achieve goals the band had originally set out for. Empyrean is truly a return to form because we are doing what comes naturally to us, but with an intensity that we haven’t achieved in the past. We set out to create something that represents the band and its history in its purest form while also pushing our technical abilities further than we have ever gone.”

“Every Fallujah album has been a reflection of whatever ideas felt the freshest and exciting to us at that particular point in time. We’ve developed our own defined sound over the years, but on this album, our new members helped bring in some new perspectives. We incorporated new elements such as counterpoint and tempo changes but maintained elements integral to the band and even brought back techniques used in older records. At this point, it’s all about elegantly presenting the sound we have cultivated over the last decade.”

Find “Empyrean”pre-orders here.

“Empyrean” Album Artwork

This spring, Nuclear Blast label-mates Fallujah and Alluvial will join death metal giants Rivers Of Nihil for the U.S. leg of their Terrestria World Tour, with additional support from Warforged, Hypocrisy, The Zenith Passage and Burial In The Sky. The tour will embark on May 6 in Brooklyn and will culminate on June 5 in Pittsburgh.

“Empyrean” Tracklisting:

1. The Bitter Taste Of Clarity
2. Radiant Ascension
3. Embrace Oblivion
4. Into The Eventide
5. Eden’s Lament
6. Soulbreaker
7. Duality of Intent
8. Mindless Omnipotent Master
9. Celestial Resonance
10. Artifacts

FALLUJAH will return to the road this fall for “The Divine Ascension Tour” with Australian tech-death co-headliners PSYCROPTIC in support the new record. Additional support will be provided by INTERLOPER and COGNITIVE. Tickets are available now and the whole set of dates can be seen below.


Leave A Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

error: This content is copyrighted!