BIG BIG TRAIN to Release New Studio Album “Welcome to the Planet” in January 2022

Pinterest LinkedIn Tumblr +

28th January 2022 sees the release of  “Welcome to the Planet”, the new album from Big Big Train on their own label, English Electric Recordings.

“Welcome to the Planet” comes six months after the release of the band’s critically acclaimed top 40 album “Common Ground”. Big Big Train founder Gregory Spawton explains the short time between albums: “The experience of the pandemic has shown us that we need to make the best use of our time on Earth. With that in mind and with new band members on board giving us a fresh head of steam, we decided on a speedy return to the studio to write and record Welcome To The Planet.”

As with “Common Ground”, “Welcome to the Planet” sees Big Big Train retain their progressive roots but also take influence from all spheres of music. The album’s opener ‘Made From Sunshine’, co-written by guitarist Dave Foster and singer David Longdon, has guitar lines redolent of Johnny Marr and vocal harmonies reminiscent of the Finn Brothers/Crowded House, with violinist Clare Lindley sharing lead vocals with Longdon.

Elsewhere on the album, keyboard player Carly Bryant gets her first Big Big Train writing credit and lead vocal on the captivating title track. The two recent singles ‘The Connection Plan’ and ‘Lanterna’ are included along with a winter themed song ‘Proper Jack Froster’, a bittersweet tale of childhood. The album is completed by the delicate acoustic ‘Capitoline Venus’, the beautiful ‘Oak And Stone’ and a pair of dazzling instrumentals, ‘A Room With No Ceiling’ and ‘Bats In The Belfry’, written by guitarist/keyboardist Rikard Sjöblom and drummer Nick D’Virgilio respectively.

Pre order the album On vinyl, CD & download at Burning Shed or Bandcamp.

“Welcome to the Planet” Track-Listing:

Part One

  1. Made From Sunshine
  2. The Connection Plan
  3. Lanterna
  4. Capitoline Venus
  5. A Room With No Ceiling

Part Two

  1. Proper Jack Froster
  2. Bats In The Belfry
  3. Oak And Stone
  4. Welcome To The Planet

For their March 2022 UK tour, which will be their most extensive to date and which will culminate in the UK with a show at the prestigious London Palladium, Greg Spawton (bass), David Longdon (lead vocals, flute), Nick D’Virgilio (drums, vocals) and Rikard Sjöblom (guitars, keyboards, vocals) will be joined by Carly Bryant (keyboards, guitars, vocals), who contributes vocals to ‘Common Ground’, Dave Foster (guitars), who plays on two tracks on the new album, Clare Lindley (violin, vocals) and by a five piece brass ensemble. The band expect to announce North American tour dates shortly.


 Tuesday 15th March York, Barbican

  • Wednesday 16th March Cambridge, Corn Exchange
  • Friday 18th March Birmingham, Symphony Hall*
  • Saturday 19th March Bath, Forum*
  • Monday 21st March Glasgow, Royal Concert Hall
  • Tuesday 22nd March Manchester, Bridgewater Hall
  • Wednesday 23rd March London, Palladium*

*Supported by Marathon featuring Mark Kelly from Marillion.

UK Tour March 2022 tickets on sale now HERE.


Comments are closed.

error: This content is copyrighted!