ABBATH Reveals New Album Details, Shares Music Video for New Single

Pinterest LinkedIn Tumblr +

Norwegian metal legend ABBATH will drop its third full-length album, ‘Dread Reaver,’ on March 25 via Season of Mist! Album artwork, tracklisting, and other details can be found below! The band is now premiering the official music video for the fiery first single, “Dream Cull,” which can be seen below. The video was created by Francisco Munoz.

Pre-orders for ‘Dread Reaver’ are available in the Season of Mist shop here. Pre-save the album on streaming services here. 

The album artwork for ‘Dread Reaver,’ which was created by Bjørn Stian Bjoarvik, can be found below along with the track-list.

The ravens gaze ominously from above. The seas roar in anticipation. The mountains creak yet again. Abbath’s remarkable new album, “Dread Reaver”, is upon us all. Two years in the making, Abbath’s third full-length is the culmination of everything before it. A fusion of debut “Abbath” (2016) and follow-up “Outstrider” (2019), the aptly titled Dread Reaver extends its fantastical fangs outward and drives its cloven hooves onward. Indeed, there’s nothing like an Abbath record. This is the darkest metal for epic journeys and ancient battles. Comprised of eight riveting tracks and a red-hot cover of Metallica’s “Trapped Under Ice,” “Dread Reaver” shows Abbath triumphing over all trials and tribulations, riding hard into merciless glory as the one and only “Lemmy of black metal.”

Powered by Abbath’s creative musical imagination, “Dread Reaver” runs riotously out of the gate. The album’s edifice affords tracks like “Acid Haze,” “Scarred Core,” “The Deep Unbound,” and the album’s closing title track ample room to champion the extremes of black metal, heavy metal, and hard rock. While there are nods to NWOBHM greats, thrash metal’s luminaries, and black metal icons, “Dread Reaver” is unmistakably Abbath. There is no other fingerprint. Paired with thought-provoking lyrics based on the historical figure of Othryades, Abbath’s new album not only shouts exultant but reads like an ancient pyrrhic tale steeped in violence, sorrow, and grit. The idea of a “Dread Reaver” — a fearless duelist —c an also be read as a metaphor for life’s actions and subsequent struggles. Be warned: “Dread Reaver” is Abbath at his most menacing and accomplished.

“Dread Reaver” Tracklist

  1. Acid Haze
  2. Scarred Core
  3.  Dream Cull
  4. Myrmidon
  5. The Deep Unbound
  6. Septentrion
  7. Trapped Under Ice
  8. The Book of Breath
  9. Dread Reaver
  10.  Make my day

Recording Lineup: 

  • Abbath / Guitar, bass & vocals
  • Ukri Suvilehto / Drums
  • Ole André Farstad / Lead & acoustic guitars
  • Mia Wallace / Bass on Acid Haze, Scarred Core, The Deep Unbound & Dread Reaver

Comments are closed.

error: This content is copyrighted!