TROND HOLTER of WIG WAM Reflects About “Out of the Dark” Album: “We All Inspire Each Other to Write Great Songs in a Friendly and Competitive Way”

Pinterest LinkedIn Tumblr +

Norwegian rock n’ rollers Wig Wam just released their new album, “Out of the Dark,” this past Friday (February 10, 2023) via Frontiers Music Srl.

Coming on the heels of renewed and enthusiastic interest in the band thanks to their classic song “Do Ya Wanna Taste It” being the theme for HBO‘s Peacemaker series, “Out of the Dark” sees an extremely talented band feeling reinvigorated and inspired. “Out of the Dark” is a testament to Åge Sten Nilsen [vocals], Trond Holter [guitarist], Bernt Jansen [bassist], and Øystein Andersen [drums]rebellious spirits to create and grow constantly.

The band returns with a diverse, attitude-drenched collection of songs that their faithful followers have come to expect while pushing their signature sound forward. Eleven maximum rock songs like “Uppercut Shazam,” “Forevermore,” and “Out of the Dark” showcase Trond‘s fiery guitar playing, Åge versatile vocal strength, Bernt‘s incendiary roaring bass, and Øystein monstrous percussive and stylistic playing.

This new music fits perfectly alongside their most popular songs, which have become the cornerstone of their live performances. To order “Out of the Dark” or purchase tickets to their US tour, please visit HERE.

Correspondent Robert Cavuoto had an in-depth conversation with guitarist Trond Holter about his blazing fretwork and melodic sensibilities, the guitars and techniques he used on “Out of the Dark”, the friendly competition within the band to write songs, and what fans can expect on their upcoming US tour. Watch or listen to their all-encompassing conversation below  and remember that for more interviews and other daily content, Sonic Perspectives is on Facebook, Flipboard, Twitter and YouTube, where you can be notified about new content we publish on a daily basis.

In 2005, the year after the release of their debut album (first titled “667.. The Neighbour of the Beast” and later changed to “Hard To Be A Rock N’ Roller”), the band had their first international breakthrough when they represented Norway in the Eurovision Song Contest, placing ninth with the song “In My Dreams”. The band would go on to release three more studio albums, “Wig Wamania” (2006), “Non Stop Rock ‘N Roll” (2010), and “Wall Street” (2012) before splitting up in 2014.

“Out Of The Dark” Album Artwork

The band would reunite in 2019 and work on a new album, “Never Say Die,” that was released in early 2021. In 2022, the band had a stroke of good fortune when film/television director James Gunn selected their 2010 song “Do Ya Wanna Taste It” (from the album “Non Stop Rock ‘N Roll”) as the opening theme song for the HBO Max show Peacemaker starring John Cena. The show, based on a DC Comics character, showcased the band to a whole new audience who had been previously unaware of them and has seen the band taking on renewed interest and booking more and more live dates around the world.

With new album “Out Of The Dark” in tow, Wig Wam is ready to show even more rock ‘n roll fans around the globe their entertaining take on hard rock!

“Out Of The Dark” Track List:

1. Out Of The Dark
2. High And Dry
3. Forevermore
4. Bad Luck Chuck
5. Uppercut Shazam
6. Ghosting You
7. The Purpose
8. The American Dream
9. 79
10. God By Your Side
11. Sailor And The Desert Sun


Comments are closed.

error: This content is copyrighted!