DEREK SHERINIAN Talks Writing Process Of His Recent Album with SIMON PHILLIPS: “‘Vortex’ Has The Same Mindset And The Same Creative Energy Of ‘The Phoenix’”

Pinterest LinkedIn Tumblr +

Derek Sherinian seems determined to make up for the lost time. Having spent nine years working with the super-groups Black Country Communion, PSMS and Sons of Apollo, and touring with Billy Idol, Joe Bonamassa and others, he is now focused on his solo career.

2020 saw the release of “The Phoenix”, Derek‘s first solo record in nine years, which did not disappoint. Teaming up once again with Simon Phillips and enlisting the likes of Kiko Loureiro, Steve Vai and Joe Bonamassa proved to be a winning combination, which led the album to the top of many “best of” lists of that year. You can read our review here of that record HERE.

This July 1st brought us the follow up to “The Phoenix”, entitled “Vortex”. It’s an album that follows the same modus-operandi as its predecessor, with Derek and Simon being co-responsible for the majority of the songs, and sharing production duties. Completing the lineup this time, we have Tony Franklin on bass and once again a star-studded list of guest guitarists: Michael Schenker, Steve Stevens, Mike Stern, Joe Bonamassa, Bumblefoot, Steve Lukather and Nuno Bettencourt help Derek and Simon bring their vision to fruition through eight tracks. From the fast pace of the title track, through the stripped-down approach of “Scorpion,” the heaviness of “Die Kobra” and the trippy “Aurora Australis”, the listener is challenged and pleased in equal measures.

Sonic Perspectives collaborator Rodrigo Altaf has spoken with Derek many times over the course of the last few years, and once again sat down with the keyboardist to discuss in detail the inception of the album, touring schedules, Derek’s plans for a drums-bass-keys trio tour in the near future, and how the wheels are already in motion for a follow up to “Vortex”. Listen to their chat below and remember that for more interviews and other daily content, make sure to follow Sonic Perspectives on Facebook, Flipboard and Twitter and  subscribe to our YouTube channel to be notified about new interviews and contents we publish on a daily basis.

“Vortex” Tracklisting:

1 The Vortex (Featuring Steve Stevens)
2 Fire Horse (Featuring Nuno Bettencourt)
3 Scorpion
4 Seven Seas (Featuring Steve Stevens)
5 Key Lime Blues (Featuring Joe Bonamassa, Steve Lukather)
6 Die Kobra (Featuring Michael Schenker, Zakk Wylde)
7 Nomad’s Land (Featuring Mike Stern)
8 Aurora Australis (Featuring Bumblefoot)


Comments are closed.

error: This content is copyrighted!