VIDEO PREMIERE: Check Out the Smashing Single “Alone” Preceding the Return of Danish Melodeath Masters WITHERING SURFACE

Pinterest LinkedIn Tumblr +

After a decade of silence, the founders of Danish melo-death metal, Withering Surface, are back with a second single and video, to please the In Flames, Kreator, Dark Tranquility, Soilwork – and their own – fans, and they are premiering “Alone” today with us.The song is an advance from the album “Meet Your Maker” to be released 16th of June 2020 worldwide on LP, CD & digital via Mighty Music.

“Meet Your Maker” is the name of the album and consists of 9 brand new songs mixed and mastered by Jacob Hansen (Volbeat, Amaranthe) at Hansen Studios. The songs draw inspiration from the band’s back catalogue all the way from the ’97 debut album “Scarlet Silhouettes” but also sound fresh and new while keeping the signature sound of the band. From classic melo-death songs with big choruses like the first single “Leaves In The Stream” to fast-paced aggression in the second single “Alone” spiced with the epic, proggy title song “Meet Your Maker” and the “ballad” “I’ll Soon Be Gone”, a duet between singer Michael H. Andersen and his 19 year old daughter Elizabeth Gorboi Andersen.

“Meet Your Maker” Album Artwork

“Meet Your Maker” Track-list:
 1. Meet Your Maker
 2. Raised Right
 3. Alone
 4. Room 417
 5. In A City Without Soul
 6. Leaves In The Stream
 7. I’ll Soon Be Gone
 8. Mourning Light
 9. The Apprentice

“Alone” is about cleaning up and down scaling. Looking at yourself having lived half of your life. What are your values, what do you appreciate, who are your friends? Taking hard and brutal decisions mean you will be left out in the cold all alone before entering the other side. Feeling solitude and being able to actually spend time alone in your own company is something a lot of people fear. I don’t. And in these lyrics I am even privileged by the company of the Wilson sisters, who I have loved and adored since I was a kid. And in some way I am looking back at our “The Nude Ballet” album, which was released in a time when I was heartbroken, and the company of Kate Bush helped me find the way”, says Michael H. Andersen, vocalist.

The single was produced by Jacob Hansen (Volbeat, Amaranthe) and the video by Morten Madsen / Popshit Film, with graphic design by Martin Helgren and Niklas Sundin.

Jacob Hansen states “Once in a while you’re surprised with how some of the classic bands resurface and set a new standard.Withering Surface is such band!

Niklas Sundin was also not indifferent: “Withering Surface was one of those bands from the mid-’90’s scene that never got the recognition they deserved“, he says. “Things were very different back then, and there were a lot of excellent artists that remained in relative obscurity due to bad distribution/promotion, lack of tour support or similar reasons causing their music to be unheard by a lot of people that would enjoy it. I therefore got positively surprised when learning that the band was back after a long hiatus and even more excited upon listening to their new material and realizing that they have come with something truly great. The influences from the various sub-styles of what’s broadly called “melodic death metal” are there, but the songs display a strong sense on individuality and great skill both in songwriting and execution. Well done!“.

But why a reunion and why now? Guitarist Allan Tvedebrink explains: “I didn’t expect to suddenly sit down and do new Withering Surface songs in 2019. The first time the idea came up, I shook my head at it, but when it was defined who were on board, I had to admit I’d really enjoy playing with them again and it fit nicely in relation to where I was creatively and temporally in my life. So, I wrote a test song and it felt amazing! All of a sudden, we had ideas for several songs that everyone liked, and the reunion was a reality”.


  • Allan Tvedebrink / Guitars
  • Jakob Møller Gundel  / Drums
  • Jesper Kvist  / Bass
  • Morten Lybecker  / Keys
  • Michael H. Andersen  / Vocals
  • Marcel Lech / Guitars

Withering Surface on social media: FacebookSpotify | Bandshop


Comments are closed.

error: This content is copyrighted