VIDEO PREMIERE: THE WRING Unveils Lyric Video for “Sins”, Featuring MARCO MINNEMANN

Pinterest LinkedIn Tumblr +

Canada’s The Wring released their third album “Spectra” this past December via WormHoleDeath Records. It’s an assertive mix of different styles including hard rock, jazz, metal, classical, 80’s rock, and 70’s rock. Solo artist Don Dewulf brought the idea to a myriad of professional players that include Marco Minnemann (The Aristocrats), vocalist Chandler Mogel, Canadian bass superstar Reggie Hache and sessions keyboardist Isamu McGregor to form the full-length. There is a wide range of influences that are apparent on the record with its vivid progressive sound that is tight, concise, and well-executed with interesting melody, rhythm, and lyrical themes.

Today in support of the album, The Wring is sharing their next lyric video for the track “Sins”, Dewulf explains the song in further detail: “I love the main riff. It’s another odd time thing (in 13 this time) but the vocals really smooth it out. Has a total Metallica middle part that jumps out of nowhere! Marco’s playing on this was inhuman. The lyrics came from my dismay at how humanity can have advanced so much and in so many ways and yet still do absolutely horrifying things to each other. How many years will it take for Ukraine to recover from Russia’s insanity?”

Dewulf comments on the album: “I am very proud of the compositions on this album. Prog music can tend to be grandiose; I wanted this album to be the opposite of that. I like to think that the guitar parts are interesting and somewhat unique and span a very wide range of styles, influences, and execution. The vocals come straight out of the 80s with great melody and delivery, offering a very grounded counterpoint to the, often, odd time and melody structure. There are also keyboards hidden in the mix that offer an almost subliminal base on which everything else is built. The cover has a cool 70’s vibe that is simple but offers a depth of meaning that will be very personal to each observer; a reflection of the musical content within.”

“Spectra” was produced by Don Dewulf, mixed by Francis Perron at Radicart Studios, mastered by Yannick St-Amand, and the album artwork was done by Gord Woolley“Spectra”  is recommended listening for fans of Opeth, Porcupine Tree, and Rush. The album is available on digital formats and CD.

“Spectra” Track Listing:

1. Stiletto 4:40
2. Stones & Bones 4:58
3. The Prince 3.54
4. The Wolf 5:00
5. Tin Man 5:25
6. From Mars 4:43
7. Sins 4:43
8. Fallen 5:05

“Here’s one for prog dorks. This outfit’s third outing (Spectra) features drums by Marco Minnemann so you know the rhythms are mad. The regulars in the band ain’t slouches either though. This is intricate and melodic prog done well.” – Metal Injection


Comments are closed.

error: This content is copyrighted!