VIDEO PREMIERE: DAY OF DEPARTURE Continue Their Proggy Sci-Fi Narrative with New Single “Ex Machina”

Pinterest LinkedIn Tumblr +

Today’s video premiere brings the next page in Washington, D.C.’s Day of Departure’s sci-fi story, one that is presented in their upcoming self-titled debut which sees civilization being eliminated. “Ex Machina” is the fifth track on the album, and just as the first portion of the record involves the chaos and destruction of our civilization, this song transitions the listener into the realization that there is a new path forward both musically and with the fate of civilization. The band explains the single:

“This is probably the most straightforward track on the album, yet it still retains the vibe and tone of the overall concept. Unlike the epic nature of the first single ‘…And We Prepare for Our End’, this song will provide fans of hard rock and metal with a welcome addition that is a more digestible offering. The song represents a transition in terms of the entire album story, as well as a transition from the epic onslaught of sonic destruction that is apparent on the first few songs on the LP,.”

For Day of Departure, the writing process is not forced. They did not initially set out to create the overall concept, but it was developed organically once the first couple of songs came together. Even though the foundations of most of the songs were initially developed by guitarist/keyboardist Matt Kozar, who is a comic book/sci-fi fanatic, there was plenty of room for collaboration to get to the final versions of the songs on the album, which reflect his literary influence throughout.

“Day of Departure” Tracklist:

1. …And We Prepare for Our End (8:00)
2. The Edge of Annihilation (6:13)
3. The Light In Our Eye Grows Dim (3:01)
4. Pierce the Sky (Conflict) (4:32)
5. Ex Machina (5:46)
6. Life Prevails (6:13)
7. The Future Has No Form (3:24)
8. Living Matter (7:34)
9. Awaken To The Beyond (5:50)
10. The Beyond (2:17)

Fans of the Day of Departure members’ other projects, Brave and Stellar Death, will recognize and appreciate the ways in which they have been able to integrate the vast array of sounds and styles throughout this album, but also recognize elements from those other creative outlets. They are recommended for fans of Tool, Hammock and God is an Astronaut.

The full album release is March 25, 2022 via Bravemusic and can be pre-ordered HERE.

Follow Day of Departure for more upcoming singles and announcements at: Facebook | Instagram | BraveMusic


Comments are closed.

error: This content is copyrighted!