Swiss Industrial Metal Pioneers SAMAEL Announce Live Album “Passage – Live”

Pinterest LinkedIn Tumblr +

Switzerland’s legendary industrial black metal force Samael unleash their live album, “Passage – Live”, out on February 16, 2024 via Napalm Records. Recorded during a sold-out concert in Krakow on the last day of the European leg of the “Passage 25th Anniversary Tour”, “Passage – Live” offers a fresh take on the highly influential original album released in 1996. Played live in its entirety, the album gets a makeover on the new live recording, with a raw and boisterous sound!

Samael creates energetic and rousing nuances to get lost in, and with their live video for ‘Jupiterian Vibe’ below, recorded during their shows in Lyon (FR), Essen (DE) and Erfurt (DE), they have captured the unforgettable power of their live performances on record. Watch the live video and get caught by their impressive intense atmosphere.

Vorph on ‘Jupiterian Vibe’: “‘Jupiterian Vibe Live’ is the first single from the forthcoming album “Passage – Live”, the song features a mix of heavy guitar riffs with a pachydermic rhythm. The tribal sound of percussion, coupled with industrial samples lay the foundations for the song.”

The songs of “Passage – Live” remain the same, but captured in the urgency of a live environment, they appear rawer and heavier than they were originally, and the maturation of a quarter-century makes them more immediate. The live album is the first official recording with the band’s current line-up, and as Drop and Ales both were fans of the album before joining the band, they add new vigor and energy to the music.

“Passage – Live” is a testament to an album that left its mark on a generation of metal fans, as Samael moved towards a more industrial sound, distancing themselves from their roots in black metal, and simultaneously breaking the band into a wider international audience. “Passage” has stood the test of time, remaining as fresh today as it was nearly three decades ago, and with “Passage – Live”, Samael adds new depth to one of the most important albums in the band’s history.

Vorph says about “Passage – Live”: “The blend of metal, industrial and electronica that has been our trademark for almost three decades began with “Passage”. It’s almost ground zero for us, and we’re delighted to offer these songs a fresh approach and bring this album to life for our long-standing audience as well as those who have discovered the band recently.”

“Passage – Live” is available to pre-order HERE. It will be available in the following formats:

  • 1LP Gatefold Marbled Red/White & 20 Page Booklet (Napalm mail order only, limited to 300)
  • 1LP Gatefold Black & 20 Page Booklet
  • 6 Page Digipack & 56 Page Booklet in a Slipacase
  • Digital Album

Samael band store:

  • 1LP Gatefold Red & 20 Page Booklet
  • 6 Page Digipack & 56 Page Booklet in a Slipcase

“Passage – Live” Track List:

  1. Passage
  2. Rain
  3. Shining Kingdom
  4. Angel’s Decay
  5. My Saviour
  6. Jupiterian Vibe
  7. The Ones Who Came Before
  8. Liquid Soul Dimension
  9. Moonskin
  10. Born Under Saturn
  11. Chosen Race
  12. A Man in Your Head

Comments are closed.

error: This content is copyrighted!