SLEEPING DOGS Roll Out Second Single and Video for “Let’s Be Friends”

Pinterest LinkedIn Tumblr +



Coming off their debut single + video “No Mercy” this past June, Southern California band SLEEPING DOGS have rolled out their second single + video, the upbeat and melodic rocker “Let’s Be Friends.” Watch the video, a modern-day vampire love story, below, and listen to the single, which will be available tomorrow (August 11) at all streaming platforms, here.  

Filmed in Orange County with Jarrod Anthonee (Megadeth, Lamb of God, Social Distortion, and the Offspring) behind the lens, the “Let’s Be Friends” video stars two huge Internet personalities as the romantic couple: The Girl IQ (over 1.9 Million followers on TikTok, known for empowerment and inclusion) and The Magic Crasher (over 3.2 million Followers on TikTok, known for his creative viral “Magic Prank” videos).  

Says the band: “The Magic Crasher and The Girl IQ had great romantic chemistry, which really brought the story to life. They were awesome.”  

“Let’s Be Friends” was written by the band’s lead guitarist/songwriter Danny Walker and produced by Paul Miner (New Found Glory, Agnostic Front, Adolescents, Zebrahead, H2O). It will be featured on SLEEPING DOGS’ debut EP in November, to be followed by a full-length album in early 2022.    “Let’s Be Friends” is the follow-up to the band’s debut single No Mercy.” Raved MXDWN“’No Mercy’ is laid-back mid-tempo ska at its best, led by a slinky guitar lead from Walker. The upstrokes are never in much of a hurry, laying down an almost-funky groove for Amodeo to deliver the song’s message.”   

SLEEPING DOGSBobby Amodeo (bass, vocals), Danny Walker (lead guitar), Higgins X-13 (guitar) Spider (drums) and George Hughes, Jr. (keys), who is keyboardist for Ziggy Marley — is a spinoff of the So Cal band WANK, who first made their mark in 1998 with their debut album on Maverick Records, which featured “Larry Brown” (produced by Mike Ness) and the KROQ hit “Forgiven.” WANK, who played shows with Social Distortion, The Specials, Goldfinger, and Deftones, split in 1999. In 2000, Walker formed and fronted HANDSOME DEVIL (RCA Records), and toured with Lit, The Used, Hoobastank and Zebrahead, and released three albums. WANK reformed in 2017 and released the full-length album “White Knuckle Ride” in 2020 and are currently on hiatus. WANK’s Amodeo, Walker, Higgins X-13, formerly of the Offspring, and Spider have joined forces with George Hughes, Jr. in SLEEPING DOGS.   Says Walker, “He brings so much to our songs, creatively, musically, and vibe-wise, that we asked him to join the band. George makes us better–plain and simple.”


Comments are closed.

error: This content is copyrighted!