OZZY OSBOURNE Scores First No. 1 On BILLBOARD’s Top Album Sales Chart with “Patient Number 9”

Pinterest LinkedIn Tumblr +

According to Billboard, Ozzy Osbourne‘s new album, “Patient Number 9”, sold 52,500 equivalent album units in the U.S. in its first week of release to land at No. 1 on Billboard‘s Top Album Sales chart. The album also opened at No. 1 on Billboard‘s Top Rock & Alternative Albums, Top Rock Albums, Top Hard Rock Albums, Top Current Album Sales, Tastemaker Albums and Vinyl Albums.

Of “Patient Number 9”‘s 52,500 copies sold in its first week, physical sales comprise 44,500 (16,500 on vinyl; 27,500 on CD; and 500 on cassette) and digital downloads comprise 8,000.

Billboard‘s Top Album Sales chart ranks the top-selling albums of the week based only on traditional album sales.

Ozzy has had six previous top 10 entries on the Top Album Sales chart: “Ordinary Man” (No. 2 in 2020),“Scream” (No. 4, 2010),“Black Rain” (No. 3, 2007),“Down To Earth” (No. 4, 2001),“Ozzmosis” (No. 4, 1995) and “No More Tears” (No. 7, 1991).

As previously reported, “Patient Number 9” landed at position No. 2 on the U.K. chart. This marks the legendary heavy metal singer’s highest-charting U.K. album of his 42-year solo career.

“Patient Number 9” is the follow-up to 2020’s “Ordinary Man”, which entered the U.K. chart at No. 3.

Ozzy had previously scored four other Top 10 albums in the U.K.: 1980’s “Blizzard Of Oz” (No. 7),1986’s “The Ultimate Sin” (No. 8),2007’s “Black Rain” (No. 8) and the aforementioned “Ordinary Man”.

As a member of BLACK SABBATH, Ozzy had landed two No. 1 albums in the U.K.: 1970’s “Paranoid” and 2013’s “13”.
“Patient Number 9” is available for purchase here.

Produced by Andrew Watt (who handled the same duties on “Ordinary Man”) and set for release on Epic, the new album marks Osbourne‘s 13th solo studio album. It’s heavy, it’s hard-hitting, it’s historic — it’s everything you’d want from an Ozzy Osbourne record and maybe more.

The “Patient Number 9” title track was written by Ozzy, Watt, Robert Trujillo (METALLICA),Chad Smith (RED HOT CHILI PEPPERS) and Ali Tamposi and features a riveting solo from legendary guitarist Jeff Beck (one of the notable guest stars on the album; additional details below). The video marks the first collaboration from the project with McFarlane. It is highlighted by McFarlane‘s signature illustrations interspersed with live Ozzy vignettes in the role of “Patient Number 9,” which the revolutionary creative force in the world of comics and toys also filmed. In addition, this is the first-ever video to incorporate Ozzy‘s artwork: his hand-drawn demons were animated and can be seen during the Jeff Beck solo in the song.

“Patient Number 9” track-listing:

  1. Patient Number 9 (feat. Jeff Beck)
  2. Immortal (feat. Mike McCready)
  3. Parasite (feat. Zakk Wylde)
  4. No Escape From Now (feat. Tony Iommi)
  5. One of Those Days (feat. Eric Clapton)
  6. A Thousand Shades (feat. Jeff Beck)
  7. Mr. Darkness (feat. Zakk Wylde)
  8. Nothing Feels Right (feat. Zakk Wylde)
  9. Evil Shuffle (feat. Zakk Wylde)
  10. Degradation Rules (feat. Tony Iommi)
  11. Dead and Gone
  12. God Only Knows
  13. Darkside Blues

Comments are closed.

error: This content is copyrighted!