MAGNUM to Release “Live at the Symphony Hall” January 18, 2019, “Lost on the Road to Eternity” Lyric Video (Feat. Tobias Sammet) Out Today

Pinterest LinkedIn Tumblr +

British melodic hard rocker icons MAGNUM will release a new live album, “Live At The Symphony Hall”, on January 18, 2019 through SPV/Steamhammer as a 2CD digipak, 3LP gatefold, download and stream, which can be pre-ordered from here. The lyric video for the song “Lost On The Road To Eternity”, featuring a guest appearance by Tobias Sammet (AVANTASIAEDGUY), can be seen below.

Every music lover knows that the closing concert of a long tour is always a very special event. For weeks in advance the audience has been able to read up on how much the band has been celebrated in their previous concerts evening after evening and they are all the more excited to see their heroes with their own eyes. After having played those numerous concerts, the band is in excellent shape, perfectly attuned to one another and of course they want to outdo themselves with this final show. One of those tour finales took place on April 19, 2018 inside Birmingham’s Symphony Hall. It was there that the MAGNUM completed its “Road To Eternity” tour, which consisted of 42 concerts, and performed at the highest level.

“A truly magical evening,” guitarist Tony Clarkin confirms, “especially seeing as the show was a sort of home game for us, since all of us are from around the area between Birmingham and Wolverhampton, although during the last 20 years we have performed in Birmingham only once. In this respect it was a special moment for MAGNUM in more than one way.” Clarkin, vocalist Bob Catley, bassist Al Barrow as well as their two newest members, keyboardist Rick Bentonand drummer Lee Morris, confidently played their way through a well-chosen mix of classics and newer songs, which rather successfully join the ranks of the band’s long tradition of atmospheric rock songs. Sammet, too, was swept along by this enthusiasm and the blazing interaction between the musicians and their Birmingham audience when he went on stage for “Lost On The Road To Eternity” to lend energetic support to vocalist Bob Catley, just like he did for the track’s studio recording.”

“Live at the Symphony Hall” Album Artwor

All that’s left to ask now is what makes “Live At The Symphony Hall” any different from former MAGNUM live recordings.

Bob and I have been in this band for quite a while now, but we’ve never lost our passion for MAGNUM,” Clarkin elaborates. “We want to keep learning new things and are open to tips and advice. That’s why we constantly revise our old songs, sometimes we play them a bit faster, sometimes a bit slower, we change a solo here and a part of the melody there. That way we not only keep our audience interested but also our own enjoyment in these pieces alive.”

“Live At The Symphony Hall” track listing:


 1. When We Were Younger (8:00) 
 2. Sacred Blood ‘Divine’ Lies (6:28) 
 3. Lost On The Road To Eternity (6:11) 
 4. Crazy Old Mothers (5:35) 
 5. Without Love (6:14) 
 6. Your Dreams Won’t Die (5:42) 
 7. Peaches And Cream (5:09) 
 8. How Far Jerusalem (10:46)


 1. Les Morts Dansant (5:46) 
 2. Show Me Your Hands (5:52) 
 3. All England’s Eyes (4:48) 
 4. Vigilante (5:24) 
 5. Don’t Wake The Lion (Too Old To Die Young) (11:43) 
 6. The Spirit (4:30) 
 7. When The World Comes Down (6:11)


Comments are closed.

error: This content is copyrighted!