GODSMACK Drops Official Music Video for ‘Surrender’, Off Upcoming Final Studio Album “Lighting Up The Sky”

Pinterest LinkedIn Tumblr +

GODSMACK will release its new album, “Lighting Up The Sky”, on February 24, 2023 via BMG. The official music video for the single “Surrender”, can be watched below.

Co-produced by vocalist/guitarist Sully Erna and Andrew “Mudrock” Murdock (AVENGED SEVENFOLD, ALICE COOPER),“Lighting Up The Sky” is a testament to powerful storytelling.

“I like when a record takes you on a journey from front to back. I realized there’s a whole story here about one man’s journey, the ups, and downs,” says Erna. “I believe it’s a story everyone will connect to, on a human level, because we’ve all gone through things in life.” The album explores boy-meets-girl, obstacles in relationships, the polarized political climate and the state of the world, betrayal, connection, rebounds, and more. It also gets into the idea of legacy, what we leave behind; fitting for what Erna has noted as GODSMACK‘s final studio album.

Pre-order “Lighting Up The Sky” at THIS LOCATION.

“Lighting Up The Sky” track listing:

 1. You And I
 2. Red White & Blue
 3. Surrender
 4. What About Me
 5. Truth
 6. Hell’s Not Dead
 7. Soul On Fire
 8. Let’s Go
 9. Best of Times
10. Growing Old
11. Lighting Up The Sky

Last September GODSMACK shared the single ‘Surrender’. At the time Erna said: “‘Surrender’ is a very cut-and-dry song. It’s simply about the exhaustion we can all feel in relationships at times from the redundancy of fighting with each other. At a certain point in our lives, we submit to putting aside who’s right or wrong, we just want it to STOP! So we wave the white flag.”

In September 2021, GODSMACK‘s latest album, “When Legends Rise”, was certified gold on by the RIAA (Recording Industry Association of America) for sales in excess of half a million copies. In addition, two more of the LP’s singles (the title track and “Under Your Scars”) were also officially certified gold by the RIAA. The album’s first single “Bulletproof” earned a platinum digital single award in September 2020 and was previously certified gold in the U.S.

“When Legends Rise” was the seventh studio album from GODSMACK. Produced by Erik Ron and Erna, it was the band’s first release in four years and was recorded at their now-former headquarters (GSHQ) in Derry, New Hampshire. The album went on to garner a multitude of career milestones for the group: four No. 1 rock tracks (an accomplishment that makes GODSMACK one of only four rock acts to achieve this),and a record 11 No. 1 singles in the band’s career with the album’s fourth single, “Unforgettable”. “When Legends Rise” entered the Billboard Top 200 album chart in the top ten (No. 8),with four No. 1 placements on other charts: Top Rock Albums, Top Hard Music Albums, Top Independent Albums and Top Alternative Albums.


Comments are closed.

error: This content is copyrighted!